DEPARTMENT OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY

No. 143 1 March 2013

THE SUGAR INDUSTRY AGREEMENT, 2000

NOTICE UNDER CLAUSE 82 OF THE SUGAR INDUSTRY AGREEMENT, 2000

The South African Sugar Association hereby publishes under clause 82 of the Sugar Industry Agreement, 2000, the varieties of sugarcane specified in the second column of the Schedule hereto, which varieties have been duly approved by the South African Sugar Association for planting during the year commencing 1 April 2013 exclusively in the control areas or part of a control area specified opposite the said varieties in the first column of the said Schedule.

BY ORDER OF THE COUNCIL OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN SUGAR ASSOCIATION

PEST, DISEASE AND VARIETY CONTROL: 2013/2014 LIST OF CANE VARIETIES

The South African Sugar Association attaches the approved list of varieties for planting of cane in each control area during the year commencing 1 April 2013, which has been approved by the Council of the South African Sugar Association.

CONTROL AREAS	VARIETIES OF SUGARCANE FOR PLANTING EXCLUSIVELY WITHIN EACH CONTROL AREA
Lowveld	N14, N17, N19, N22, N23, N24, CP66/1043, N25, N26, N28, N30, N36, N40, N41, N43, N46, N49 and N53
Pongola	N14, N17, N19, N22, N23, N24, CP66/1043, N25, N26, N28, N30, N36, N40, N41, N43, N46, N49 and N53
Umfolozi	NCo376, N12, N14, N17, N18, N19, N21, N22, N23, N24, N25, N26, N27, N28, N30, N33, N35, N36, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N46, N49 and N53
Felixton	NCo376, N12, N14, N17, N19, N21, N22, N23, N25, N27, N33, N35, N36, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N49 and N51
Entumeni	NCo376, N12, N16, N17, N21, N23, N24, N25, N27, N28, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N48, N50, N51, N52 and N54
Amatikulu	NCo376, N12, N14, N17, N19, N21, N25, N27, N31, N33, N35, N36, N39, N40, N41, N42, N45, N47, N51 and N52
North Coast	NCo376, N12, N14, N16, N17, N18, N19, N21, N22, N25, N26, N27, N28, N30, N31, N33, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N48, N49, N50, N51 and N52

Midlands North	N12, N16, N21, N23, N25, N26, N27, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N48, N49, N50, N51, N52 and N54
Midlands South	N12, N16, N21, N23, N25, N26, N27, N28, N30, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47,N48, N49, N50, N51, N52 and N54
Sezela	NCo376, NCo382, N55/805, N12, N14, N16, N21, N25, N26, N27, N28, N30, N31, N33, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N48, N49, N50, N51 and N52
Umzimkulu	NCo376, N12, N14, N16, N17, N21, N25, N27, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N48, N50, N51 and N52

LOCAL PEST, DISEASE AND VARIETY CONTROL COMMITTEES CONTROL AREAS AREAS OF JURISDICTION BY LOCAL MUNICIPALITIES

Lowveld	Mbombela (MP 322) Nkomazi (MP 324) and Umjindi (MP 323).
Pongola	uPhongolo (KZN 262), Umhlabuyalingana (KZN 271); Nongoma (KZN 265) and Jozini (KZN 272), north of the Mduna River.
Umfolozi	Hlabisa (KZN 274), The Big Five False Bay (KZN 273), south of the Mduna River, Mtubatuba (KZN 275), Mbonambi (KZN 281) north of Teza Lake.
Felixton	uMlalazi (KZN 284) north of the Ibati River and east of the road linking the R102 with the town of Mtunzini, uMhlatuze (KZN 282), Mbonambi (KZN 281) south of Kwambonambi, and Ntambanana (KZN 283).
Amatikulu	uMlalazi (KZN 284), south of the uMlalazi river and Mandeni (KZN 291) north of the Nyoni River.
Entumeni	uMlalazi (KZN 284) and Mthonjaneni (KZN 284), including the Eshowe, Entumeni and Melmoth cane supply areas.
North Coast	Mandeni (KZN 291), south of the Nyoni River; KwaDukuza (KZN 292), Maphumulo (KZN 294), Umvoti (KZN 245), Ndwedwe (KZN 293) and Ethekwini (ETH), east of the N3.
Midlands North	East of the N3 and within the boundaries of Umvoti (KZN 245), uMshwati (KZN 221), Maphumulo (KZN 294), Mkhambatini (KZN 226), the Umsunduzi (KZN 225) and uMgeni (KZN 222).
Midlands South	West of the N3 and within the boundaries of Richmond (KZN 227), Mkhambatini (KZN 226), the Msunduzi (KZN 225) and Ethekwini (ETH).
Sezela	Ubuhlebezwe (KZN 434), Vulamehlo (KZN 211), Ethekwini (ETH) south of the R603, Umdoni (KZN 212), Umzumbe (KZN 213) and Hibiscus Coast (KZN 216) north of the Mzumbe River.
Umzimkulu	Mbizana (EC 151), uMuziwabantu (KZN 214), Ezingoleni (KZN 215) and Hibiscus Coast (KZN 216), south of the Mzumbe River.