NOTICE 900 OF 2012





NOMINATIONS OF POTENTIAL CANDIDATES TO THE TECHNOLOGY INNOVATION AGENCY (TIA) BOARD OF DIRECTORS

In terms of the Technology Innovation Agency Act, 2008 (Act No 26 of 2008), the Minister of Science and Technology, is in the process of reconstituting the Board of the Technology Innovation Agency (TIA).

The object of the TIA is to support South Africa in stimulating and intensifying technological innovation in order to improve economic growth and the quality of life of all South Africans by developing and commercialising technology innovations. The TIA offers both financial and non-financial support towards the commercialisation of technology innovation.

Nominations of suitable candidates to be considered for appointment to the TIA Board by the Minister of Science and Technology are hereby invited from all interested persons/ organisations. Chairperson and six to nine members shall be appointed to serve on the TIA Board. Members of the Board hold office for a period of four years and are eligible for reappointment on expiry of their term.

When submitting nominations, it should be borne in mind that members of the Board are appointed by the Minister in consultation with the National Assembly, on the grounds of their knowledge and experience in technology innovation, technology management, intellectual property and commercialisation thereof and business skills which, when considered collectively, should enable them to attain the objects of the Agency. In addition to the requirements of the Act, nominees should also have knowledge and experience in corporate or public sector governance and financial management.

The nominations should be submitted to the Minister of Science and Technology by no later than Friday 23 November 2012. Appropriate *curricula vitae* should accompany the nominations. The following information should also be provided: identity number; gender and race; designation and responsibilities; address, telephone, fax and e-mail; qualifications / field of study; current and past service on boards; area of expertise; names of contactable referees, as well as confirmation of the availability of nominees.

Nominations may be emailed, posted and/or delivered to the Department at the following addresses (in envelopes marked – TIA Nominations):

Postal Address:

Physical Address:

The Director-General c/o Ms Happy Molefe Department of Science and Technology Private Bag X894 PRETORIA, 0001

Building 53 CSIR Campus Meiring Naude Road Brummeria Pretoria 0184

Department of Science & Technology

Enquiries: Happy Molefe Tel: (012) 843 6651 Fax: 086 681 0258

Email: <u>happy.molefe@dst.gov.za</u>