# GENERAL NOTICES

#### **NOTICE 798 OF 2012**

## DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND LAND REFORM

## CALL FOR NOMINATION OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE SOUTH AFRICAN COUNCIL FOR PLANNERS

## PLANNING PROFESSION ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 36 OF 2002)

Under Section 4(3) of the Planning Profession Act, 2002 (Act No 360 of 2002), I, Mduduzi P Shabane, Director General of the Department of Rural Development and Land Reform on behalf of the Minister, hereby invite interested persons, voluntary associations and organizations to submit nominations of suitably qualified persons who are prepared to serve as member(s) of the South African Council for Planners in terms of the Planning Profession Act.

Categories of persons to constitute the Council are:

- Two planners in the full time employ of the Department of Rural Development and Land Reform by the head of the Department, in terms of Section 4(1) (a).
- One planner in the employ of provincial government nominated by Provincial Government, in terms of Section 4(1) (b).
- Two planners in the employ of municipal sphere of government (one from a municipality which is mainly rural in character and the other from municipality mainly urban in character) nominated by municipality (ies) or an association representing planners at municipal level or representing the interests of local government sphere of government, in terms of Section4(1)(c).
- Three planners from the planning education and training sector nominated by the Committee of University Principals, or Education and Training Institutions that offers training on the subject matter, in terms of Section 4(1)(d).
- Three persons to represent the interest of communities whom or may be affected by planning decisions nominated by interested persons, voluntary associations and organisations, in terms of Section 4(1)(e).
- Three planners in private practice nominate by association(s) or institutions representing planners in private practice or representing the interest of planners in general, in terms of Section 4(1) (f).

Persons nominated must not be disqualified in terms of section 5 of the Planning Profession Act 2002. All nominated individuals are expected to declare that they comply with the requirements of sections 5 (1) and (2) of the Act. In appointing members of the Council, the Minister will have due regard to the planning profession principles contained in section 2 of the Act, the diversity of interests and the need to ensure and promote gender, disability and other demographic representativity.

Council members will hold office for a period of four years from the date the appointment takes effect which is to be published in the Gazette.

Nominations, accompanied by acceptance letter and curriculum vitae, including the category in which the person is nominated should be received on or before 16:00 on 05 November 2012 by the Director General, Department of Rural Development and Land Reform, Private Bag X833, PRETORIA, 0001. Nominations should be addressed for the attention Mr. Rajesh Makan. Tel (012) 312 9548, Fax: 0862382465 and E-mail:sacplannominations@ruraldevelopment.gov.za. Compliance forms are available upon request through the above email.

Persons who have already been nominated should not be renominated again as their nominations will be considered.

MOUDUZI P SHABANE

DIRECTOR GENERAL: DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMEN AND LAND REFORM

DATE: 50.10.12