GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATIONS

No. 430 1 June 2012

INVITATION TO NOMINATE MEMBERS OF THE ICT POLICY REVIEW PANEL

I, Dina Pule, Minister of Communications, hereby invite nominations for membership of the ICT Policy Review Panel.

An ICT Policy Colloquium was held in April 2012 as a first step in the formulation of an Integrated National ICT Policy. The main purpose of the ICT Policy Review Panel (the Panel) is to advance the outcomes of the ICT Policy Colloquium towards the formulation of a Green Paper and thereafter a White Paper on Integrated National ICT Policy. The Panel will be supported by Working Committees and will be required in the first instance to make recommendations to the Minister within six (6) months of its establishment.

The Panel shall consist of up to twenty (20) members. These members will when viewed together constitute an ICT core expert group whom about 6 members will be appointed as chairpersons of the six (6) working committees, namely Broadcasting, Telecommunications and Information Technology, Postal, Content Development, Digitising government, and Investment and Manufacturing.

In appointing the Members of the Panel, the Minister will consider a broad spectrum of required skills including *inter alia* engineering, legal, economics, education, business development, financial, regulatory and research.

The Terms of Reference of the Panel is available on the Department's website at: www.doc.gov.za.

The following information should be supplied in respect of the person nominating and the person nominated:

Curriculum vitae:

Full name:

Identity number;

Physical and postal addresses;

Telephone and facsimile numbers;

E-mail address;

Organisation represented, if applicable; and

Signature of person nominating and the person nominated.

Nominations should be made to Mr Themba Phiri, the Deputy Director-General, ICT Policy Development, Department of Communications at the address below.

The closing date for nominations is 30 calendar days from the date of publication hereof. Please note that nominations received after the closing date may be disregarded.

Private Bag X860 Pretoria 0001

First Floor, Block A3 iPariolli Office Park 1166 Park Street Hatfield, Pretoria

Email: Thulisile@doc.gov.za

Mr Phiri can be reached at telephone number: (012) 427-7718/ 7703/ 8000 for any enquiries.

MS DINA PULE, MP

MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS