## **NOTICE 305 OF 2012**



## MEMBERS ELIGIBLE FOR APPOINTMENT AS OFFICIALS OF THE NATIONAL PUBLIC TRANSPORT REGULATOR

The National Public Transport Regulator will be established in terms of section 20(1) of the National Land Transport Act No. 05 of 2009. Its mandate is to-

- (a) monitor and oversee public transport in the country in general and the activities of Provincial Regulatory Entities and municipalities in relation to their land transport functions;
- (b) receive and decide on applications relating to operating licences or accreditation for-
  - i. interprovincial transport, excluding daily commuter transport to and from the area of a municipality to which the operating licensing function has been assigned under section 11(2) of the Act, which must be dealt with by that municipality;
  - ii. tourist transport services; and
  - iii. any other services designated by the Minister by notice in the Gazette;
- (c) oversee fares charged for public transport services throughout the country; and
- (d) advise the Minister on the making of regulations in relation to fares or fare structures in terms of section 8 of the Act.

The National Land Transport Act makes provision for the appointment of those officials on a full or parttime basis to execute the above mandate.

The purpose of this notice is to inform the public that the following persons are eligible and being considered for appointment as officials of the National Public Transport Regulator –

Mr. Titus Malaza, Mr. Charles Maluleke, Mr. Paul Browning, Mr. Wilson Mudau, Mr. George Negota, Dr. Wendy Singo, Mr. Zola Fihlani, Advocate Setai Mangoaela, Ms. Indira Kooverjee, Professor Imtiaz Valley

Any person or organisation wishing to comment on the proposed appointment of the persons mentioned in the above list must forward their comments to:

The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X193, Pretoria 0001, for attention Ms Nomsa Mtshwene: Director: Public Transport Information Management, Fax 086 566 0901 email: <a href="mailto:mtshwenn@dot.gov.za">mtshwenn@dot.gov.za</a>

Closing date for comments is the 4th May 2012