#### NOTICE 659 OF 2011

#### DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS

### NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT, 2004 (ACT NO. 39 OF 2004)

I, Bomo Edith Edna Molewa, Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs, hereby give notice, in terms of section 18(4) read with section 57(1)(a) of the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, 2004 (Act No. 39 of 2004), of my intention to consider for approval the declaration of the expanded proposed Waterberg Priority Area Air Quality boundary incorporating Bojanala Platinum District in the North West Province.

I am satisfied that the ambient air quality within the proposed Waterberg Priority Area may exceed the national ambient air quality standards in the near future, that an "airshed" situation exists between the proposed Waterberg Priority Area and Bojanala Platinum District in the North West Province which may cause a significant negative impact on air quality in both areas, that the area requires specific national air quality management action to ensure that air pollution levels remain within the national ambient air quality standards and that the situation may contribute to air pollution across the Republic's boundaries (Botswana).

A description of the proposed expanded boundaries of the Waterberg Priority Area is set out in the Schedule attached hereto.

Members of the public are invited to submit written representations or comments to the Minister within 30 days of publication of the notice in the Gazette. All such representations or objections must be submitted in writing in the following manner:

Delivered to:	The Department of Environmental Affairs Attention: Ms Mathabo Phoshoko Fedsure Forum Building 315 Pretorius Street <b>PRETORIA</b> 0002
By Post to:	The Director General Department of Environmental Affairs Attention: Ms Mathabo Phoshoko Private Bag X447 <b>PRETORIA</b> 0001
By fax to:	(012) 320-1167; or e-mail to: mphoshoko@environment.gov.za

Or hand deliver at Corner of Pretorius and Van der Walt Streets, Fedsure Forum Building, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, North Tower. Any further enquiries in connection with the declaration can be directed to Dr. Thuli Mdluli at (012) 310-3436 or Ms. Mathabo Phoshoko at (012) 310-3365.

Written representations or comments received after the closing date may not be considered.

BOMO EDITH EDNA MOLEWA MINISTER OF WATER AND ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS

# -LEGEND: environmental affairs Local Municipalities **District Municipalities** Proposed Waterberg Priority Areas Lephalale Mogalak Mena the Modito oble habazinti Mookgapang ء أم ا Moses Kolana loci Bojanë la Rustenburg tantenat 100 Kilometers 0 12.5 25 50 75

.

## SCHEDULE

The identified area to be known as the Waterberg Priority Area includes the areas illustrated on the map above and contained within the boundaries of: (i) the Waterberg District Municipality in Limpopo Province; (ii) Thabazimbi Local Municipality (Waterberg) in Limpopo Province; (iii) Modimolle Local Municipality (Waterberg) in Limpopo Province; (iv) Mogalakwena Local Municipality (Waterberg) in Limpopo Province; (v) Bela Bela Local Municipality (Waterberg) in Limpopo Province; (vi) Mookgopong Local Municipality (Waterberg) in Limpopo Province; and (vii) Lephalale Local Municipality (Waterberg) in Limpopo Province, Moses Kotane Local Municipality in the North West Province, Rustenburg Local Municipality in the North West Province, and Madibeng Local Municipality in the North West Province.