## GENERAL NOTICES

## **NOTICE 487 OF 2011**

## OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF SOUTH AFRICA

## INVITATION FOR NOMINATIONS OF CANDIDATES FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

(Constitutional Hill, Braamfontein)

The Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, in his capacity as the Chairperson of the Panel established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996 (Act No. 51 of 1996), which is empowered to make recommendations on candidates for appointment as members of the Electoral Commission (Commission), hereby invites nominations of candidates to be appointed as members of the Commission in four vacancies that will arise on 20 October 2011.

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 read with Electoral Commission Act, provides that members of the Commission must be men and women who:

- are South African citizens;
- are fit and proper person to hold that office; and
- not at that stage have a high party-political profile.

Members of the Commission are appointed by the President for a term of seven years. Some of the members of the Commission may serve on a full-time while others on a part time basis. Nominees must indicate whether they are available to serve full-time or part time.

Nominations motivating the suitability of each candidate accompanied by the candidate's written consent and comprehensive curriculum vitae must be submitted on or before **05 August 2011 to**: The Office of the Chief Justice, Private Bag X1, Constitutional Hill, Braamfontein, 2017 or hand delivered at: The Constitutional Hill, Corner Queens and Sam Hancock / Hospital Streets, Braamfontein, 2017, **for attention: Mr Sello Chiloane, 011 838 2019**.

Enquiries: Mr Nelson Phakola, Tel: 011 838 2022.