NOTICE 453 OF 2011

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS TO APPOINT A CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERS TO THE SPORT AND RECREATION DISTRIBUTING AGENCY OF THE NATIONAL LOTTERIES BOARD (NLB)

The NLB was established in terms of section 2 of the Lotteries Act, 1997 (Act No.57 of 1997) (the Act)

Section 21(1) of the Act provides for the establishment of the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund (NLDTF) to be managed by the NLB

In terms of section 26 (3) (c) of the Act, not less than the prescribed percentage shall be allocated from the NLDTF for expenditure on or connected with the development of sport and recreation

Section 29 (1) of the Act stipulates that so much of any sum paid into the fund as is allocated for expenditure referred to in section 26 (3) (c) of the Act, shall be held in the fund for distribution by the distributing agency appointed by the Minister in consultation with the Minister responsible for sport and recreation in the national sphere of government to distribute the allocated sum fairly and equitably amongst all persons who meet the prescribed requirements

In terms of section 29 (1) of the Act, the Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies, calls on interested parties to nominate suitable candidates to appoint a chairperson and other members to the Sport and Recreation Distributing Agency (SRDA) of the NLB

Criteria for SRDA membership

- Nominees should have extensive knowledge of the sport and recreation sector coupled with executive management and financial skills and experience
- Nominees should ensure that they are not disqualified from membership in terms of the criteria set out in the Regulations relating to Distributing Agencies, Regulation No. R182 published the Government Gazette No. 7013 of 22 February 2001
- Nominees should be capable of promoting the objectives of the NLB and the Lotteries Act
- Nominees should have no conflict of interest in relation to their appointment to the SRDA and must be capable to make impartial decisions in relation to the disbursement of NLDTF funds without fear or favour

Term of office of SRDA members:

Members appointed to the SRDA serve for a term of five (5) years or until such time as the term of office of the current SRDA members expires

Enquiries:

Ms Busi Ngwenya - Tel: 012 394 1574

Nomination Procedure:

- Nominations or applications must be submitted in writing and must at least contain the following: detailed CV, motivation for appointment, certified copy of identity document, qualifications and declaration of interest form obtainable from the dtl website to explain his or her suitability for appointment
- A brief statement signed by the nominee in which he or she agrees to the nomination
- · Nominations are subject to the preferred candidates obtaining the necessary security clearence
- Preference will be given to candidates whose appointment will enhance representivity
- It is the applicant's responsibility to have foreign qualifications verified by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
- A written statement in which the nominee declares whether or not he or she is not disqualified from membership in terms
 of the criteria set out in the Regulations relating to Distributing Agencies, Regulation No. R182 published the Government
 Gazette No. 7013 of 22 February 2001
- · Correspondence will be limited to short-listed members only
- No facsimile applications will be accepted
- Nominations should be submitted to the Minister of Trade and Industry for the attention of:

Ms Busi Ngwenya Consumer and Corporate Regulation Division Department of Trade and Industry Private Bag X84 Pretoria 0001 Block B 1^{et} Floor 77 Meintjies Street Sunnyside Pretoria 002

Closing date: 13 July 2011