No. 73 4 February 2011

SOUTH AFRICAN MARITIME AND AERONAUTICAL SEARCH AND RESCUE ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 44 OF 2002)

DESIGNATION OF RESCUE CO-ORDINATION CENTRES AND SUB-CENTRES

- I, Sibusiso Joel Ndebele, MP, Minister of Transport, under the powers vested in me in terms of section 11 (a) of the South African Maritime and Aeronautical Search and Rescue Act, 2002 (Act No.44 of 2002), hereby designate the two centres below as **Rescue Coordination Centres**:
- (a) The Air Traffic and Navigation Services Company Limited, situated at the Johannesburg Air Traffic Control Centre, as Aeronautical Rescue Co-ordination Centre;
- (b) The South African Maritime Safety Authority's office, situated at Tygerburg Park, Plattekloof, Cape Town, as the Maritime Rescue Co-ordination Centre; and

I further designate the following as Rescue Sub-Centres

- (c) All Air Traffic Service Units from where certain duties of the Aeronautical Rescue Coordination Centre (ARCC) are carried out on an ad hoc basis when required, as Aeronautical Rescue Sub-Centres (RSCs); and
- (d) The under mentioned as Maritime Rescue Sub-Centres;
 - (1) Port of Cape Town;

- (2) Port of Durban;
- (3) Port of East London;
- (4) Port of Port Elizabeth;
- (5) Port of Richards Bay;
- (6) Port of Saldanha;
- (7) Port of Walvis Bay, Namibia
- (8) Port of Mossel Bay and
- (9) Port of SANAE Base, Antarctica

(e) The under mentioned NSRI stations as Secondary Maritime Rescue Sub-Centres:

Station	Location	Station	Location
Number		Number	
2	Bakoven	19	Richards Bay
3	Table Bay	20	Shelley Beach
4	Mykonos	21	St Francis Bay
5	Durban	22	Vaal Dam
6	Port Elizabeth	23	Wilderness
7	East London	24A	Lamberts Bay
8	Hout Bay	26	Kommetjie
9	Gordon's Bay	28A	Port St John's
10	Simon's Town	30	Agulhans
11	Port Alfred	31	Stillbaai
12	Knysna	32	Port Edward
14	Plettenberg Bay	33	Witsand
15	Mossel Bay	34	Ysterfontein
16	Strandfontein	35A	Wavecrest, Wild Coast
17	Hermanus		

18

Melkbosstrand

(f) The under mentioned Search and Rescue Institutes in Namibia's (SRIN's) Stations as Secondary Maritime Rescue Sub-Centres:

Luderitz

Walvis Bay

This notice will come into operation on the date of publication.

S.J. Ndebele, MP

Minister of Transport

Date: 2010-12-07