NOTICE 64 OF 2011

NOTICE ON THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN MARITIME SAFETY AUTHORITY (SAMSA)

The South African Maritime Safety Authority is a national public entity established in terms of the South African Maritime Authority Act, 1998 (Act. 5 of 1998). Its mandate is to ensure safety of life and property at sea, to prevent and combat pollution from ships and to promote South Africa's maritime interests.

The Authority has a Board, whose function is to ensure that the entity strives for the achievement of the objectives outlined in the Act and exercise authority and control over the financial position, operations and management of the entity.

The Minister of Transport has appointed the following persons to the Board of SAMSA with effect from 01 November 2010 –

- Mr Comfort Ngidi as the Chairperson, Ms Loretta Annelise Feris and Mr John Martin, for a period of three (3) years; and
- Ms Nadeema Syms as the Deputy Chairperson, for the remainder of her term of office which expires on 31 May 2011.