DEPARTMENT OF WATER AFFAIRS

No. R. 1086

19 November 2010

TRANSFORMATION OF THE HEATONVILLE AND UMFULI IRRIGATION BOARDS (AMALGAMATION), MAGISTERIAL DISTRICT OF USUTHU TO MHLATHUZE, KWAZULU-NATAL PROVINCE, INTO THE CENTRAL UMHLATHUZE WATER USER ASSOCIATION, WATER MANAGEMENT AREA NUMBER 6, KWAZULU-NATAL PROVINCE

I, Delisiwe Protasia Sigwaza, Chief Director: Institutional Oversight, Department of Water Affairs, duly authorised thereto by the Minister of Water Affairs, in terms of section 98(6) of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No 36 of 1998), hereby declare that –

- (a) the Heatonville and Umfuli Irrigation Boards are a water user association;
- (b) the Association's name is the Central uMhlathuze Water User Association;
- (c) the area of operation of the Central uMhlathuze Water User Association includes all properties in respect of which any person is entitled to use water (surface and underground water) by virtue of entitlements in terms of section 22(1) of the Act from –
 - (i) the boundaries of the Water User Association incorporates both the existing Heatonville and Mfuli Irrigation Board areas and extends west up to and including the Ndlangubo Traditional Council, then north westerly up to the Mfuli River at the point of joining W12D quaternary catchment boundary also incorporating a part of the Obuka Traditional Council, moving north up to and including the Obizo Traditional Council, then east up to and including the Somopho Traditional Council and part of the Madlebe Traditional Council, and finally south, approximately five (5) kilometres over the banks of the Mhlathuzana River, up to Ngoye Mountain Range including a part of the Mzimela Traditional Council.
 - (ii) any other water resource(s) and/or waterwork(s) situated outside the area described in paragraph (c)(i) above, which water resource(s) and/or waterwork(s) and accompanying area the Department of Water Affairs or the responsible authority may require the Association to control,

which is situated in Water Management Area number 6 in the KwaZulu-Natal Province; and

(d) the constitution of the Central uMhlathuze Water Association has been approved.

5/7/2010

N DELISÍWE PROTASIA SIGWAZA CHIEF DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL OVERSIGHT