NOTICE 889 OF 2010



APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF THE RAILWAY SAFETY REGULATOR (RSR)

The Railway Safety Regulator is a national public entity established in terms of the National Railway Safety Regulator Act of 2002. Its functions are to develop a railway safety regUlator framework; develop appropriate safety standards, conduct safety audits and assessments, inspections and occurrence investigations and promote and support the regional harmonization of railway safety standards.

The Regulator has a Board, whose function is to ensure that the Regulator strives to achieve the objectives described in the Act and exercise overall authority and control over the financial position, operation and management of the Regulator.

The purpose of this notice is to publish the names of the members appointed by the Minister to the Board of the Regulator for a period of three years, with effect from 1 October 2010 -

Ms Brenda Madumise (as the Chairperson), Mr Matodzi Ratshimbilana (as deputy Chairperson), Mr Christiaan de Vos, Mr Wahed Rasool, Ms Jane Barret, Ms Musa Chauke, Ms Thembelihle Msibi, Prof May Hermanus, Mr Cedrick Ntumba, Mr Willem Venter (representative of the Department of Police), Mr Thobile Lamati (representative of the Department of Labour) Ms Mala Somaru (representative of the Department of Transport)