GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 23 OF 2010

DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND LAND REFORM

CALL FOR NOMINATION OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE SOUTH AFRICAN COUNCIL FOR PLANNERS

PLANNING PROFESSION ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 36 OF 2002)

Under section 4(3) of the Planning Profession Act, 2002 (Act No. 36 of 2002) ("the Act"), I, Thomas Thozamile Gwanya, Director – General of Rural Development and Land Reform, acting on behalf of the Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform, hereby invite interested persons, voluntary associations and organisations to submit nominations of suitably qualified persons who are prepared to serve as member(s) of the South African Council for Planners in terms of the Act.

Categories of persons to constitute the Council are:

- Two planners in the employ of the municipal sphere of government (one from a municipality which
 is mainly rural in character and the other from a municipality which is mainly urban in character)
 nominated by municipality(ies) or an association representing planners at municipal level or
 representing the interests of the municipal sphere of government;
- One person to represent the interest of communities whom are or may be affected by planning decisions nominated by interested persons, voluntary associations and organizations; and
- One planner in private practice nominated by association(s) or institutions representing planners in private practice or representing the interest of planners in general.

Persons nominated must not be disqualified in terms of section 5 of the Act. In appointing members of the Council, the Minister will have due regard to the planning profession principles contained in section 2 of the Act, the diversity of interests and the need to ensure and promote gender, disability and other demographic representativity.

Council members will hold office for a period of four years from the date the appointment takes effect to be published in the *Gazette*.

A nomination should be accompanied by an **acceptance** letter and **curriculum vitae** and should mention the category in which the person is nominated. All nominations should be addressed to the Director General, Department of Rural Development and Land Reform, Private Bag X833, PRETORIA, 0001 for the attention of Mr. Rajesh Makan (Tel (012) 312 9548, Fax (012) 321-3244 and e-mail RMakan@ruraldevelopment.gov.za) to reach him on or before 16:00 on 15 February 2010.

SIGNED

T GWANYA

DIRECTOR GENERAL: DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND LAND REFORM

DATE: 11 / 01 / 2010