PROCLAMATION

by the

President of the Republic of South Africa

No. 48, 2009

AMENDMENT OF SCHEDULE 1 TO THE PUBLIC SERVICE ACT, 1994

In terms of section 7(5)(a) of the Public Service Act, 1994 (promulgated under Proclamation No. 103 of 1994), I hereby amend, on the advice of the Minister for the Public Service and Administration, Schedule 1 to the said Act with respect to national departments and the heads thereof by substituting that Schedule for the following:

Column 1	Column 2
NATIONAL DEPARTMENTS	HEADS OF NATIONAL
	DEPARTMENTS
Department of Agriculture	Director-General: Agriculture
Department of Agriculture, Forestry and	Director-General: Agriculture, Forestry and
Fisheries	Fisheries
Department of Arts and Culture	Director-General: Arts and Culture
Department of Basic Education	Director-General: Basic Education
Department of Communications	Director-General: Communications
Department of Cooperative Governance and	Director-General: Cooperative Governance
Traditional Affairs	and Traditional Affairs
Department of Correctional Services	Commissioner: Correctional Services
Department of Defence and Military Veterans	Secretary for Defence
Department of Education	Director-General: Education
Department of Energy	Director-General: Energy
Department of Environmental Affairs	Director-General: Environmental Affairs
Department of Environmental Affairs and	Director-General: Environmental Affairs
Tourism	and Tourism
Department of Health	Director-General: Health
Department of Higher Education and	Director-General: Higher Education and

Training	Training
Department of Home Affairs	Director-General: Home Affairs
Department of Human Settlements	Director-General: Human Settlements
Department of International Relations and	Director-General: International Relations
Cooperation	and Cooperation
Department of Justice and Constitutional	Director-General: Justice and Constitutional
Development	Development
Department of Labour	Director-General: Labour
Department of Mineral Resources	Director-General: Mineral Resources
Department of Minerals and Energy	Director-General: Minerals and Energy
Department of Police	National Commissioner: South African
	Police Service
Department of Public Enterprises	Director-General: Public Enterprises
Department of Public Service and	Director-General: Public Service and
Administration	Administration
Department of Public Works	Director-General: Public Works
Department of Rural Development and Land	Director-General: Rural Development and
Reform	Land Reform
Department of Science and Technology	Director-General: Science and Technology
Department of Social Development	Director-General: Social Development
Department of Tourism	Director-General: Tourism
Department of Trade and Industry	Director-General: Trade and Industry
Department of Transport	Director-General: Transport
Department of Water Affairs	Director-General: Water Affairs
Department of Water Affairs and Forestry	Director-General: Water Affairs and
	Forestry
Department of Women, Children and People	Director-General: Women, Children and
with Disabilities	People with Disabilities
Economic Development Department	Director-General: Economic Development
Government Communication and Information	Director-General: Government
System	Communication and Information System
Independent Complaints Directorate	Executive Director: Independent Complaints
	Directorate
National Intelligence Agency	Director-General: National Intelligence
	Agency
National Treasury	Director-General: National Treasury
Office of the Public Service Commission	Director-General: Office of the Public
	Service Commission
Public Administration Leadership and	Director-General: Public Administration
Management Academy	Leadership and Management Academy
South African National Academy of	Chief Executive Officer: South African
Intelligence	National Academy of Intelligence
South African Secret Service	Director-General: South African Secret
	Service
Sport and Recreation South Africa	Director-General: Sport and Recreation
	South Africa
Statistics South Africa	Statistician-General: Statistics South Africa
The Presidency	Director-General: The Presidency
OFFICES OF PREMIER	HEADS OF OFFICES OF PREMIER
Office of the Premier: Eastern Cape	Director-General: Office of the Premier of

	Eastern Cape
Office of the Premier: Free State	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	Free State
Office of the Premier: Gauteng	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	Gauteng
Office of the Premier: KwaZulu-Natal	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	KwaZulu-Natal
Office of the Premier: Limpopo	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	Limpopo
Office of the Premier: Mpumalanga	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	Mpumalanga
Office of the Premier: Northern Cape	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	Northern Cape
Office of the Premier: North West	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	North West
Office of the Premier: Western Cape	Director-General: Office of the Premier of
	Western Cape

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of South Africa at Pretoria this 06 day of July, Two Thousand and Nine.

President

By Order of the President-in-Cabinet:

Minister of the Cabinet