GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 426 OF 2009



CALL FOR NOMINATION OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF THE ROAD ACCIDENT FUND

The Road Accident Fund (RAF) is a national public entity established for the purpose of paying compensation in accordance with the provisions of the Road Accident Fund Act, 1996 as amended, for loss or damage wrongfully caused by the driving of motor vehicles within the Republic of South Africa.

The Fund has a Board, whose function is to ensure the Fund strives for the achievement of the objects described in the Act and exercise overall authority and control over the financial position, operation and management of the Fund. The Board serves for a period of three years and is accountable to the Minister of Transport. The term of the office of the current Board expires on 31 July 2009.

In terms of the Act, the Minister of Transport is required to appoint at least eight, but not more that twelve persons to hold office as members of the Board. The members of the Board may not be in full-time employment of any government.

The members of the Board shall each command extensive knowledge in one or more of the fields of insurance, finance; medical service provision, law, accounting and actuarial science, or in matters relating to disabled persons, road users, commuters or consumers interests.

The Board of the Fund meets as often as the business of the Fund may enquire and has a fixed schedule of four meetings per annum. Members are remunerated for services rendered as members, and reimbursed for all reasonable expenses incurred for Board meetings.

Now, therefore, I, Jeff Radebe, Minister of Transport, hereby in terms of section 10(9) (a) of the Road Accident Fund Act, 1996, call for the nomination of persons who comply with the above requirements.

Note: Nominees must disclose to the Director-General: Transport particulars of all registrable financial and related interests.

Nominations, accompanied by a motivation, the curriculum vitae of the nominee and a letter of acceptance of nomination by the nominee, must be forwarded to: Mr. Deena Pillay, Acting Chief Director: Public Entity Oversight, Department of Transport, Private Bag X193, Pretoria, 0001. Telephone: (012) 3093626 Fax (012) 3093495 E-mail: pillayd@dot.gov.za

Closing date for nominations: 22 May 2009. Applications received after the closing date will not be considered.