## GOVERNMENT NOTICE

## DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AD TOURISM

No. 1123

23 November 2007

NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT, 2004 (ACT NO. 39 OF 2004)

DECLARATION OF THE HIGHVELD AS PRIORITY AREA IN TERMS OF SECTION 18(1) OF THE NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT, 2004 (ACT NO. 39 OF 2004)

I, Marthinus Christoffel Johannes van Schalkwyk, Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, hereby declares the Highveld as a priority area, hereafter referred to as the Highveld Priority Area, in terms of section 18(1) of the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, 2004 (Act No. 39 of 2004).

I believe that the ambient air quality within the Highveld Priority Area exceeds or may exceed ambient air quality standards, alternatively, that a situation exists within the Highveld Priority Area, which is causing or may cause a significant negative impact on air quality in the area, and that the area requires specific air quality management action to rectify the situation.

A description of the boundaries of the Highveld Priority Area is set out in the Schedule hereto.

Markener van Scholley

MARTHINUS VAN SCHALKWYK
MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND TOURISM
2007-11-16

## SCHEDULE

The Highveld Priority Area is the area illustrated on the map below, which includes the area contained within the boundaries of: (i) the Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality in Gauteng Province; (ii) Lesedi Local Municipality (Sedibeng) in Gauteng Province; (iii) Govan Mbeki Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (iv) Dipaleseng Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (vi) Lekwa Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (vii) Pixley ka Seme Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (viii) Pixley ka Seme Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (viii) Delmas Local Municipality (Nkangala) in Mpumalanga Province; and (x) the Steve Tshwete Local Municipality (Nkangala) in the Mpumalanga Province.

