GENERAL NOTICE ALGEMENE KENNISGEWING

NOTICE 1629 OF 2007

AMENDMENT OF THE RULES REGULATING THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE TRANSVAAL PROVINCIAL DIVISION AND THE WITWATERSRAND LOCAL DIVISION OF THE HIGH COURT OF SOUTH AFRICA AND THE VENDA HIGH COURT.

Notice is hereby given that the Judge President of the Transvaal Provincial Division of the High Court of South Africa has, in terms of section 43(2)(b) of the Supreme Court Act, 1959 (Act 59 of 1959), amended the Rules regulating the proceedings of the Transvaal Provincial Division and the Witwatersrand Local Division of the High Court of South Africa and the Venda High Court by:

(a) The substitution for Rule 1 of the following Rule:-

"<u>Terms</u>

In the Transvaal Provincial Division and the Witwatersrand Local Division and the Venda High Court the terms for the dispatch of civil and criminal business shall be as follows:-

(1) **For the year 2009**

- (a) The first term shall be from 2 February to 3 April 2009, inclusive;
- (b) The second term shall be from 13 April to 19 June 2009, inclusive;
- (c) The third term shall be from 27 July to 25 September 2009, inclusive; and
- (d) The fourth term shall be from 5 October to 11 December 2009, inclusive.

ţ

(2) For the year 2010

- (a) The first term shall be from 1 February to 2 April 2010, inclusive;
- (b) The second term shall be from 12 April to18 June 2010, inclusive;
- (c) The third term shall be from 26 July to 24 September 2010, inclusive;
- (d) The fourth term shall be from 4 October to 10 December 2010, inclusive.

(3) **For the year 2011**

- (a) The first term shall be from 31 January to 1 April 2011, inclusive;
- (b) The second term shall be from 11 April to 17 June 2011, inclusive;
- (c) The third term shall be from 25 July to 23 September 2011, inclusive;
- (d) The fourth term shall be from 3 October to 9 December 2011, inclusive.
- (b) The substitution for rule 2 of the following rule:-

"Administrative Recesses

- (1) The Administrative recesses for the year 2009 shall be as follows:-
 - (a) from 4 April to 12 April 2009, inclusive;
 - (b) from 20 June to 26 July 2009, inclusive;
 - (c) from 26 September to 4 October 2009, inclusive; and
 - (d) from 12 December 2009 to 31 January 2010, inclusive.

- (2) The Administrative recesses for the year 2010 shall be as follows:-
 - (a) from 3 April to 11 April 2010, inclusive;
 - (b) from 19 June to 25 July 2010, inclusive;
 - (c) from 25 September to 3 October 2010, inclusive; and
 - (d) from 11 December 2010 to 30 January 2011, inclusive.
- (3) The Administrative recesses for the year 2011 shall be as follows:-
 - (a) from 2 April to 10 April 2011, inclusive;
 - (b) from 18 June to 24 July 2011, inclusive;
 - (c) from 24 September to 2 October 2011, inclusive; and
 - (d) from 10 December 2011 to 29 January 2012, inclusive.
- (4) The Judge president shall determine prior to the commencement of the recesses referred to in sub rules (1), (2) and (3) how many and which judges are to perform the functions in the said divisions during the recesses.
- (5) No civil or criminal business shall be heard or placed on the roll for hearing during the following terms unless a judge on duty, as referred to in sub rule (4), is of the opinion that the business is urgent:-
 - (a) from 19 December 2009 to 3 January 2010, inclusive;
 - (b) from 18 December 2010 to 2 January 2011, inclusive; and
 - (c) from 24 December 2011 to 8 January 2012, inclusive."