DEPARTMENT OF WATER AFFAIRS AND FORESTRY

No. 191 9 March 2007

TRANSFORMATION OF THE HEX VALLEY IRRIGATION BOARD, THE MATROOSBERG IRRIGATION BOARD, THE GROOTHOEK IRRIGATION BOARD, THE BOVENSTEWATER IRRIGATION BOARD AND THE DRIE RIVIERE IRRIGATION BOARD, MAGISTERIAL DISTRICT OF WORCESTER, WESTERN CAPE PROVINCE, INTO THE HEX VALLEY WATER USER ASSOCIATION, WATER MANAGEMENT AREA NUMBER 18, WESTERN CAPE PROVINCE

- I, Lindiwe Benedicta Hendricks, Minister of Water Affairs and Forestry, in terms of section 98(6) of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No 36 of 1998), hereby declare that –
- (a) the Hex Valley Irrigation Board, the Matroosberg Irrigation Board, the Groothoek Irrigation Board, the Bovenstewater Irrigation Board and the Drie Riviere Irrigation Board is a water user association;
- (b) the Association's name is the Hex Valley Water User Association;
- (c) the area of operation of the Hex Valley Water User Association includes all properties in respect of which any person is entitled to use water (surface and underground water) by virtue of entitlements in terms of section 22(1) of the Act from
 - the water resources under control **of** the Association including the area within the watershed where water is being diverged into the following rivers: Valschatkloof-, Spek-, Sandriftkloof-, Amandel-, Bulshoek- and Hex Rivers. The area of operation consists **of** the following quarternary drainage areas: H20A, H20B, H20C, H20D, H20E, H20F.
 - (ii) any other water resource(s) and/or waterwork(s) situated outside the area described in paragraph (c)(i) above, which water resource(s) and/or waterwork(s) and accompanying area the Department of Water Affairs and Forestry or the responsible authority may require the Association to control,

which is situated in water management area number 18 in the Western Cape Province; and

(d) the constitution of the Hex Valley Water User Association has been approved.

LINDIW BENEDICTA HENDRICKS

MINISTER OF WATER AFFAIRS AND FORESTRY