GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF MINERALS AND ENERGY

7 February 2007

NATIONAL ENERGY REGULATOR (NERSA) NOTICE IN TERMS OF SECTION 2(7) OF THE GAS REGULATOR LEVIES ACT 2002 (NO.75 OF 2002)

Levy on **Piped-Gas Industry**

The Minister of Minerals and Energy with the concurrence of Minster of Finance has approved the budget and levies for the piped-gas industry in terms of section 2(4) of the Gas Regulator Levies Act No. 75 of 2002 as proposed by National Energy Regulator for 2006/07 financial year.

The levy for pipedgas is 35.75 c/GJ in respect of the amount of gas, measured in gigajules, delivered by importers and producers to the inlet. flanges of transmission or distribution pipelines and will be paid by the person holding the title to the gas at the inlet flange.

The levy was determined based on an estimated volume of 110 million GJ per annum and the 2006107 Business Plan and Budget requirement, for the regulation of piped-gas industry, of R 39,326 905 submitted to the Minster of Minerals and Energy.

The National Energy Regulator, acting under section 2(7) of the Gas Regulator Levies Act No. 75 of 2002, hereby publishes the 30 days notice on the imposition of the levies for piped-gas industry at 35.75 c/GJ for the 2006/07 financial year, as approved by the Minister of Minerals and Energy with the concurrence of the Minister of Finance.

The collection of the levy will be effective from 06 March 2007,

Western and the second second second

No consta

Enquiries to be directed to: the Executive Manager: Support Services, Adv Nomalanga Sithole on Tel No.: (012) 401 461 1

loga. Smunda Mokoena CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

No. 113

Regulator Members: Mr MC Matjile (Chairperson) Ms DD Mokgate (Deputy Chairperson) ^o Mr SS Mokoena (Chief Executive Officer) *Mr T Bukula ^oDr RDCrompton Adv L Makatini Mr SS Ntsaluba Prof D Singh 'Ms E Teljeur *Full-time Regulator Members

The last with a suffer function of the constant of the constant of the second second second second second second

NERSA is a Regulatory Authority established in terms of the National Energy Regulator Act, 2004 (Ad No 40 of 2004)