GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

10 November 2006 No. 1127

MINISTERIAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON A MASS LITERACY CAMPAIGN FOR SOUTH AFRICA

I, Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor, MP, Minister of Education, in terms of section 20.2 and 20.3 of the Public Finance Management Act, 1999: hereby establishes a Ministerial Advisory Committee on Literacy.

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. The Terms of Reference for the Ministerial Advisory Committee, are the following:
 - a. To advise on the implementation of the recommendations contained in the Ministerial Committee on Literacy report, submitted on 19 June 2006;
 - b. To advise on the establishment of a relevant organisational model to facilitate the effective implementation of a Mass Literacy Campaign for South Africa;
 - c. To advise on the development of an Educational Model that will enhance effective implementation of a Mass Literacy Campaign;
 - d. To advise on the development of a strategy for the successful implementation of a Mass Literacy Campaign for South Africa;
 - e. To advise on recommendations to review the current mode for implementation of ABET programmes to facilitate effective coherence between the proposed Mass Literacy Campaign and an ABET system that will ensure sustainability between Mass Literacy and Formal ABET programme delivery; and
 - f. To support the Ministry and Department of Education in advocacy initiatives that will favourably endear the intended target audience and relevant stakeholders to

4 No. 29372

f. To support the Ministry and Department of Education in advocacy initiatives that

will favourably endear the intended target audience and relevant stakeholders to

participate meaningfully in and provide the relevant support required for

successful implementation of the proposed Mass Literacy Campaign.

COMPOSITION

2. The following persons have been appointed to this Ministerial Advisory Committee

to the Minister:

1. Dr Cassius Reginald Lubisi (Chairperson and HEDCOM representative)

ii. Professor John Aitchison (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

iii. Ms Leonie du Plessis (NGO Representative/Project Literacy)

iv. Professor Veronica McKay (UNISA and IJNISA ABET Institute)

v. Mr. Gordon Naidoo (OLSET Radio in ICT)

vi. Mr. Rod Grewan (Digital Partnership and Bridges to the Future Initiative - South

Africa Partner)

vii. Dr. Obert Maguvhe (Disability Sector Representative)

viii. Mr Martin Ngcobo (National Youth Commission)

ix. Mr Vernon Jacobs (DoE: ABET - Secratariat)

TIME FRAME

3. The advisory committee has been appointed to function for a period of 12 months

beginning on 01 July 2006.

GRACE NALEDI MANDISA PANDOR, MP

MINISTER OF EDUCATION

DATE: 24-07-2006