GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 946

20 September **2006**

GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE ACT, 2001 (ACT NO. 58 OF 2001)

APPOINTMENT OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS ON THE SECOND UMALUSI COUNCIL FOR GENERAL AND FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE

I Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor, Minister of Education, have in terms of sections 6(1) and 6(6)(a) of the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001), appointed the following persons as members of the Second Umalusi Council for General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance for the period 8 June 2006 until 7 June 2010:

1. MEMBERS

1.1 **Members nominated** in accordance with the requirements as stipulated in *section* 6(3)(b) of the *General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act*, 2001 (Act No. 58 of 2001) (Annexure A):

NO	NOMINEE	POSITION
1.	Prof. JD Volmink (Chairperson)	President of Cornerstone Christian
		College
2.	Prof. L. Chisholm	Researcher at the Human Science
		Research Council
3.	Prof. M. Fourie	Vice-Rector at the University of the
		Free State
4.	Dr MA Makafola	Director of quality assurance at the
		Waiter Sisulu University of
		Technology and Science
5.	Dr PJN Steyn	Academic Advisor, International
		Colleges Group
6.	Mr J. Pampallis	Director for the Centre for
		Education Policy Development

NO	NOMINEE	POSITION
7.	Dr IL Rensburg	Vice Chancellor of the University of
		Johannesburg
8.	Dr SG Mabizela	Head of the Department of
		Mathematics at the Rhodes
		University
9.	Dr RA Patel	CEO of the Chemical Industries
		Education and Training Authority
10.	Dr ZC Sosibo	Senior Lecturer at the Cape
		Peninsula University of Technology
11.	Mr L. Nengovhela	Chief Executive Officer of the
		Mining Qualifications Authority.
12.	Mr GR Agocs	Principal of the Pretoria Technical
		High School
13.	Ms J. Naidoo	Director of the Mnambithi FET
		College
14.	Mr M. Rakometsi	Superintendent-General: Education
	·	in the Free State Province
15.	Ms PT Tyobeka	Deputy Director-General: General
£	-	Education and Training

2. CHAIRPERSON

Prof. JD Volmink, President of Cornerstone Christian College.

The Chief Executive Officer as an ex officio member: Dr P. Lolwana.

GNM Pandor, MP

Minister of Education

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001
Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510
Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504
Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737
Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosrnanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publikasies: **Tel:** (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737

Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531