GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 666 OF 2006

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

INVITATION FOR NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE COMMISSION ON GENDER EQUALITY

The Commission on Gender Equality (the Commission) has, in terms of section 187 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, **1996**, a mandate to promote respect for gender equality and the protection, development and attainment of gender equality. It has the power, as regulated by national legislation, to monitor, investigate, research, educate, lobby, advise and report on issues concerning gender equality.

The Commission on Gender Equality Act, **1996** (Act **No. 39** of 1996) (the Act), came into operation on 8 August **1996** and provides for the composition, powers, functions and functioning of the Commission and for all other matters connected therewith. The Commission consists of a chairperson and no fewer than seven and no more than eleven members. The members of the Commission may be appointed as full-time or part-time members and shall hold office for such fixed term, not exceeding five years, as the President may determine at the time of each appointment. The terms of office of 6 full-time members of the Commission and of 5 part-time members of the Commission have expired.

The Minister for Justice and Constitutional Development, Ms B.S. Mabandla, MP, hereby, invites interested parties to propose candidates for appointment by the President to the Commission. Candidates must be South African citizens who are fit and proper persons for appointment to the Commission and be broadly representative of the South African community, have a record of commitment to the promotion of gender equality and be persons with applicable knowledge and experience with regard to matters connected with the objects of the Commission.

The Minister for Justice and Constitutional Development will recommend that the next members of the Commission, except for the Chairperson, be appointed by the President, on recommendation of Parliament, for a term of office not exceeding five years. (Any person whose term of office as a member of the Commission has expired, may be reappointed for one additional term.)

THE REMUNERATION PACKAGE CONSJSTS OF THE FOLLOWING:,

Full-time member: R 445 914.00 per annum.

Part-time member: R211.00 per hour, provided that this does not exceed a

maximum of 100 hours per month.

A member may structure the total inclusive flexible remuneration **package** according to his or her individual needs.

Proposals, accompanied by motivation, concerning the suitability of each candidate and a comprehensive curriculum vitae, must be submitted before or on 26 June 2006, to: The Director-General: Department of Justice and Constitutional Development, Private Bag X 81, Pretoria 0001 or hand delivered at: The Department of Justice and Constitutional Development Momentum Centre, 329 Pretorius Street (c/o Pretorius & Prinsloo Streets), Pretoria, 0001, For attention: Mr Simon Mahlangu, 9th Floor East Tower, E 9: 22.

N.B Interested parties must re-submit [their] proposals in respect of all candidates that were previously proposed subsequent to publication of **Notice** 2781 of 2004, Notice 978 of 2005, and Notices 295 and 318 of **2006.**

Enquiries: Mr Simon Mahlangu, tel. (012) 357 8171.