

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 484 Pretoria 14 October 2005 No. 28132

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND TOURISM

No. 1007 14 October 2005

NOTICE OF INTENTION TO DECLARE THE VAAL TRIANGLE AIR-SHED PRIORITY AREA IN TERMS OF SECTION 18(1) OF THE NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT 2004, (ACT NO. 39 OF 2004)

The Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, in terms of Section 57(1) of the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act 2004 (Act **No.** 39 of 2004), hereby gives notice of his intention to declare the Vaal Triangle Air-shed Priority Area in terms of Section 18(1) of the said Act.

The Minister is satisfied that the ambient air quality within the proposed Vaal Triangle Air-shed Priority Area is exceeding or may exceed ambient air quality standards, alternatively that a situation exists within the proposed Vaal Triangle Air-shed Priority Area which *is* causing or may cause, a significant negative impact on air quality in the area, and that the area requires specific air quality management action to rectify the situation.

A description of the proposed boundaries of the Vaal Triangle Air-shed Priority Area are set out in the Schedule to this Notice.

Interested parties are requested to submit written representations on, or objections *to*, the proposed Vaal Triangle Air-shed Priority Area to the Minister within 30 days from the date of publication of this notice. Comments must be submitted to the Director-General: EnvironmentalAffairs and Tourism, Private Bag X447, Pretoria, 0001.

P Yako

Director-General: Environmental Affairs and Tourism

SCHEDULE

The area to be known as the Vaal Triangle Air-shed Priority Area declared in terms of section 18(1) of the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act 2004, (Act No. 39 of 2004) includes the areas illustrated on the map below which includes the areas contained within the boundaries of: (i) the Emfuleni Local Municipality (Sedibeng) in Gauteng Province; (ii) the Midvaal Local Municipality (Sedibeng) in Gauteng Province; (iii) Administrative Regions 6 (Doornkop / Soweto), 10 (Diepkloof / Meadowlands) and 11 (Ennerdale / Orange Farm) within the City of Johannesburg in the Gauteng Province; and (iv) the Metsimaholo Municipality (Northern Free State) in the Free State Province.



Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001