GOVERNMENT NOTICES GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTEMENT VAN JUSTISIE EN STAATKUNDIGE ONTWIKKELING 19 August 2005

No. 827

AMENDMENT OF THE RULES REGULATING THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE TRANSVAAL PROVINCIAL DIVISION, AND THE WITWATERSRAND LOCAL DIVISION OF THE HIGH COURT OF SOUTH AFRICA.

Notice is hereby given that the Judge President of the Transvaal Provincial Division of the High Court of South Africa has, in terms of section 43(2)(b) of the Supreme Court Act, 1959 (Act No. 59 of 1959), amended the rules regulating the proceedings of the Transvaal Provincial Division and the Witwatersrand Local Division of the High Court of South Africa, by:

(a) The substitution for rule 1 of the following rule:-

"TERMS

In the Transvaal Provincial Division and the Witwatersrand Local Division the terms for the dispatch of civil and criminal business shall be as follows:-

(1) For the Year 2006

- (a) The first term shall be from 23 January to 31 March 2006, inclusive;
- (b) The second term shall *be* from 17 April to 23 June 2006, inclusive;
- (c) The third term shall be from 31 July to 29 September 2006, inclusive; and
- (d) The fourth term shall be from 9 October to 8 December 2006, inclusive.

(2) For the Year 2007

- (a) The first term shall be from 29 January to 30 March 2007, inclusive;
- (b) The second term shall be from 16 April to 22 June 2007, inclusive;
- (c) The third term shall be from 30 July to 21 September 2007, inclusive; and
- (d) The fourth term shall be from **1** October to 7 December 2007, inclusive.

(3) For the Year 2008

- (a) The first term shall *be* from 28 January to **28** March 2008, inclusive;
- (b) The second term shall be from 14 April to 20 June 2008, inclusive;
- (c) The third term shall be from 28 **July** *to* **26 September** 2008, inclusive; and

- (d) The fourth term shall be from 6 October to 12 December 2008, inclusive."
- (b) The substitution for rule 2 of the following rule:-

"ADMINISTRATIVERECESSES

()The Administrative recesses for the year 2006 shall be as follows:-

- (a) from 1 April to 16 April 2006, inclusive;
- (b) from 24 June to 30 July 2006, inclusive;
- (c) from 30 September to 8 October 2006, inclusive; and
- (d) from 9 December 2006 to 28 January 2007, inclusive.
- (2) The Administrative recesses for the year 2007 shall be as follows:-
 - (a) from 31 March to 15 April 2007, inclusive;
 - (b) from 23 June to 29 July 2007, inclusive;
 - (c) from 22 September to 30 September 2007, inclusive; and
 - (d) from 8 December 2007 to 27 January 2008, inclusive.
- (3) The Administrative recesses for the year 2008 shall be as follows:-
 - (a) from 29 March to 13 April 2008, inclusive;
 - (b) from 21 June to 27 July 2008, inclusive;
 - (c) from 27 September to 5 October 2008, inclusive; and
 - (d) from 13 December 2008 to 30 January 2009, inclusive."

B M NGOEPE JUDGE PRESIDENT TRANSVAAL PROVINCIAL DIVISION OF THE HIGH COURT OF SOUTH AFRICA