NOTICE 923 OF 2005



PUBLICATION OF LIST OF NOMINEES FOR THE TRANSPORT APPEAL TRIBUNAL

I, Jeff T. Radebe, Minister of Transport, hereby, in terms of section 4 (3) of the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act, 1998, publish the names of the persons who have been nominated for appointment to the Transport Appeal Tribunal in response to my call for nominations in the Gazette (Notice 1259 of 2004) and the open media.

The Transport Appeal Tribunal (Tribunal) replaces the National Transport Commission and it has been established to consider and to decide appeal noted under the National Land Transport Act, 1998, and under the Cross-Border Road Transport Act, 1998; and for matters connected therewith.

The members of the Tribunal will hold office for a period not exceeding three years, and will be eligible for re-appointment but not more than three consecutive terms of office.

In terms of the Act, I am required to appoint not more than nine (9), but not less than five (5) members of the Tribunal after consultation with every member of the Executive Council inevery province responsible for road transport matters. The members of the Tribunal must be appointed on the grounds of their knowledge of, or experience in financial, economic, commercial, legal or other matters relating to the functions of the Tribunal.

After consultation with every member of the Executive Council in every province responsible for road transport matters, the persons whose names are listed in the Schedule have been duly nominated for appointment to the Tribunal.

Any person who wants to object to any of the nominations, may on or before 12:00 on Friday, 24 June 2005, do so in writing to:

Mr Arius Malatji Director: Resource Management Private Bag X193 PRETORIA 0001 Fax (012) 309 3275

E-mail: malatjia@dot.gov.za

I shall take into account any representations lodged when deciding on the appointments of the members.

JEFF T RADEBE (MINISTER OF TRANSPORT)

SCHEDULE
MNTONINTSHI, U (MR)
NAUDÉ, L (DR)
BEHRENS, R. (DR)
PANTHER, N (MS)
MEMANI-BALANI, N (MS)
NGCOBO, Z. B. A (MR)
SEKGOBELA, S. D (MR)
SIHLANGU, L. F. J. M (MR)
MATETE, M (MR)