

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 475 Pretoria 28 January 2005 No. 27222

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 76 28 January 2005

HIGHER EDUCATION ACT, 1997 (Act No 101 of 1997)

CORRECTION NOTICE

AMENDMENT TO THE STATUTE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ZULULAND

The following correction to the AMENDMENT TO THE STATUTE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ZULULAND published in Government Gazette No. 27114, Government Notice No. 1464 of 17 December 2004, is hereby published for general information:

Substitute paragraph 2 of the Schedule for the following paragraph:

"Functions and composition of council

- **9.** (1) The council governs the University in terms of section 27 of the Higher Education Act and this Statute.
 - (2) The council consists of-
 - (a) the rector;
 - (b) [not more than two] one vice-rector[s], designated by the council and the chief financial officer;
 - (c) [the administrative heads of the main campus and the Durban-Umlazi campus of the University] the registrar;
 - (d) three members of the senate, elected by the senate in the manner contemplated in paragraph 31 [, one of whom must represent the Durban-Umlazi campus];
 - (e) one academic employee, other **than** members of the senate, elected by the academic employees in the manner contemplated in paragraph 29(1);
 - one employee other than an academic employee elected by the non-academic employees in the manner contemplated in paragraph 29(2);
 - (g) two members of the students' representative council, [one of whom must represent the Durban-Umlazi campus], elected by the students' representative council in the manner contemplated in paragraph 32;

- (h) not more than [two] six persons co-opted by the council on account of their experience and expertise;
- five persons appointed by the Minister; (i)
- (i) three persons elected by the convocation in the manner contemplated in paragraph 54;
- (k) one person appointed by each of the [three] two local authorities within the boundaries of which [the campuses of the University [are] is situated;
- (l)two persons elected by the University of Zululand Foundation to represent the donors of the University;
- one person appointed by the Premier of the Province of (m)KwaZulu-Natal; and
- [not more than five persons elected or designated by (n) such body or bodies as determined by Statute] one person elected by the traditional leader in the area the University is situated.
- The persons referred to in subsection 2(h), (i), (i), (k), (n), (m) and (3) (n) must not be employees or full-time undergraduate students of the University.
- A member of the council, other than a member contemplated in subparagraphs (2)(a), (b), (c) and (g), holds office for a period of four years unless he or she submits his or her resignation in writing to the council or vacates his or her office for any other reason before the expiry of such period.
- The term of office of members contemplated in subparagraph (5)(2)(g) is for a period of one year.
- Should members cease to be members of the constituency, which the persons represent, their membership of the council must also cease.".

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737

Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531