

## **Government Gazette**

## **REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA**

Vol. 472 Pretoria 27 October 2004 No. 26931

## GOVERNMENT NOTICE

#### **DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION**

#### No. 1283

27 October 2004

SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY ACT, 1995 (ACT NO. 58 OF 1995) AS AMENDED

# APPOINTMENT OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS ON THE THIRD SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY (SAQA)

I Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor Minister of Education, in consultation with the Minister of Labour, have in terms of Section 4(4) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995), appointed the following persons as members of the Third South African Qualifications Authority:

### 1. CHAIRPERSON

Dr M. Nkomo, Executive Director: Education & Policy Research.

#### 2. MEMBERS

2.1 Members nominated by constituencies in accordance with the provisions as stipulated in Section 4(3)(a-p) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

NOMINEE	CONSTITUENCY	BACKGROUND
Ms P. T. Tyobeka	Department of Education	Deputy Director-General: Quality
		Assurance, Department of Education.
Prof. H. Nengwekhulu	Provincial Education	Head of Limpopo Department of
_	Departments	Education.
Mr P. Mothiba	Department of Labour	Acting Deputy Director-General: Service
		Delivery
Mr M. Toni	National Skills Authority	DPSA Deployee: NEDLAC
	(NSA)	
Mr L. Giba	Organised Labour	Food & Allied Workers Union/Organised
		Labour
Mr E. W. de Klerk	Organised Labour	Deputy General-Secretary at the United
		Transport and Allied Trade union

NOMINEE	CONSTITUENCY	BACKGROUND
Mr K. Hall	Organised Business	Education, Training and Development
		Manager at Eskom
Mr AVR Mabena	Organised Business	Executive Skills Development Adviser
		for the Chamber of Mines
Prof. J. A. Cooke	South African	Senior Professor and Dean of the Faculty
	Universities' Vice-	of Science, University of KwaZulu-Natal
	Chancellors' Association	
	(SAUVCA)	
Prof. R. H. du Pré	Committee of Technikon	Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic Vaal
	Principals (CTP)	University of Technology.
Mr D. L. Nkosi	Further Education and	Principal of South West Gauteng College
	Training Colleges)	
	represented by the South	
	African College	
	Principals Organisation	
	(SACPO)	
Ms R. Rajab	Colleges other than	Managing Director of Resonance
	teachers' and technical	Institute of Learning
	colleges	
Ms S. Mannah	South African	Head of National Education Department
	Democratic Teachers'	of SADTU.
	Union (SADTU)	
Ms C. S. Müller	National Professional	Deputy Director: Education at
	Teachers' Organisation	NAPTOSA.
	of South Africa	
	(NAPTOSA)	
Dr G. A. Niebuhr	Suid-Afrikaanse	Curriculum Coordinator with the Suid-
	Onderwysersunie	Afrikaanse Onderwysersunie
Ms R. L. Makhubu	National bodies	Head of Department: Language and
	representing lecturers	Translation at the Durban Institute of
	and trainers	Technology
Ms M. van Rooyen	National bodies	Independent consultant working as
	representing lecturers	Chairperson of the Assessment College
	and trainers	of South Africa. (Pty) Ltd.
Prof. J. Pillay	Special Education Needs	Professor at the Rand Afrikaans
	Sector	University

Discretionary appointments (not exceeding six) as stipulated in Section 2.2 4(3)(q) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

	NOMINEE	BACKGROUND	
1.	Dr A. D. Paterson	Group Executive (DDG): Science and Technology for	
		Competitiveness in the Department	
2.	Mr I. S. Sehoole	Executive President of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants	
3.	Mr D. T. Ndhlovu	Acting Deputy Director-General: Further Education and Training, Department of Education.	
4.	Prof. S. Badat	Chief Executive Officer of the Council on Higher Education	
5.	Dr P. Lolwana	Chief Executive Officer of Umalusi, Council for General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance	
6.	Ms S. Nomvete	Chief Executive Officer of the Media, Advertising, Publishing, Printing and Packaging (MAPP) Sector Education and Training Authority (SETA)	

Coopted members (not exceeding two) as stipulated in Section 4(3)(r) of the 2.3 South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

	NOMINEE	BACKGROUND
1.	Ms A. Vieira	Chartered Accountant and senior partner of Grant Thornton
2.	Prof. W. Morrow	Retired Dean of Education at the University of Port Elizabeth and
		Chair of the Ministerial Committee on Teacher Education

The Executive Officer as an ex officio member: Mr SBA. Isaacs.

GNM Pandor, MP Minister of Education