NOTICE 1972 OF 2004

CALL FOR NOMINATION OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF THE ROAD ACCIDENT FUND

The Road Accident Fund is a national public entity established for the purpose of paying compensation — in accordance with the provisions of the Road Accident Fund Act, 1996, — for loss or damage wrongfully caused by the driving of motor vehicles within the Republic.

The fund has a board, whose function is to ensure the Fund strives for the achievement of the objects described in the Act and exercise overall authority and control over the financial position, operation and management of the fund. The Board serves for a period of three years and is accountable to the Minister of Transport. The term of office of the current Board expires on 31 July 2006.

There are currently two positions, which must be filled.

In terms of the Act, the Minister of Transport is required to appoint at least eight, but not more than twelve persons to hold office as members of the Board. Those members of the Board * may not be in full-time employment of any government; and * should not have any direct or indirect interest in the statutory functions, duties and obligations of the Fund.

They must: * each command extensive experience in finance; and * at all times act in the best interest of the Fund.

The Board of the Fund meets as often as the business of the Fund may enquire and has a fixed schedule of four meetings per annum. Members are remunerated for services rendered as members, and reimbursed for all reasonable expenses incurred in attending meetings of the Board.

Now, therefore, I, Jeff Radebe, Minister of Transport, hereby in terms of section 10(9)(a)(i) of the Road Accident Fund Act, 1996, call for the nomination of persons who comply with the above requirements.

After the closing date of the nominations, a list of nominees will be published. A Selection Committee will then be established, comprising of the Director-General: Transport, one member of the Portfolio Committee of Transport (National Assembly), one member of the Select Committee on Public Service (National Council of Provinces), and two other persons appointed by the Minister of Transport on account of relevant experience. The Selection Committee will conduct interviews in public with the nominees; where after the Committee will make a recommendation to the Minister. The Minister will take this recommendation into account when appointing a person to the relevant position in the Board.

Note: Nominees must: * Disclose to the Director-General: Transport particulars of all registrable financial interests.

Nominations, accompanied by a motivation, the curriculum vitae of the nominee and a letter of acceptance of nomination by the nominee, must be forwarded to: Mr Arius Malatji, Director: Resource Management, Department of Transport, Private Bag X193, Pretoria 0001. Telephone: (012) 309 3201. Fax (012) 309 3275. E-mail: malatjia@dot.gov.za

Closing date for nominations: 11 October 2004. Applications received after the closing date will not be considered.