

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 471 Pretoria 8 September 2004 No. 26767

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 1052

8 September 2004

NATIONAL EDUCATION POLICY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1996) AND THE SOUTH AFRICAN SCHOOLS ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 84 OF 1996) AS AMENDED

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE PROPOSED SUBJECT
WORKING GROUPS WITH THE AIM OF DEVELOPING SUBJECT
STATEMENTS FOR AGRICULTURAL SUBJECTS TO BE INCLUDED IN
THE NATIONAL CURRICULUM STATEMENT GRADES 10-12 (GENERAL)

- I Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor Minister of Education, hereby, in terms of Section 3(4)(1) of the National Education Policy Act, 1996 (Act No. 27 of 1996) and Sections 6(A) and 61 of the South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act. No. 84 of 1996) as amended, approve the establishment of a Ministerial Project Committee and associated curriculum development structures with the aim of developing additional subjects to be included in the National Curriculum Statement Grades 10-12 (General) hereafter referred to as the "NCS".
- 2. In view of requests received from the Agricultural sector to develop additional agricultural subjects to be included in the NCS, I have decided to approve an extension to the current Ministerial Project Committee and associated curriculum development with the aim of developing two additional agricultural subjects, namely Agricultural Management Practices and Agricultural Technologies.
- 3. In response to nominations received for people to serve on the various curriculum development structures for the development of agricultural subjects to be listed in the NCS, I have appointed the following persons to serve on the two above-mentioned curriculum development structures:

TABLE 1: MINISTERIAL PROJECT COMMITTEE

| REPRESENTATIVES | CONSTITUENCY | DESIGNATION |
|-----------------|--------------------------|---------------|
| Dr G. H. Buys | Mpumalanga Department of | Field Expert: |
| | Education | Agriculture |

TABLE 2: SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR AGRICULTURAL MANAGEMENT PRACTICES

| REPRESENTATIVES | CONSTITUENCY |
|------------------|---------------------------------------|
| Mr W. Leshilo | Limpopo Department of Education |
| Mr M. B. M. Dube | Moeketsi Agricultural High School |
| Mr A. Smuts | Western Cape Department of Education |
| Mr B. Callaghan | Gauteng Department of Education |
| Ms C. Havenga | University of Pretoria |
| Mr P. M. Magutla | Harry Oppenheimer Agricultural School |
| Mr D. Barnard | Western Cape Department of Education |
| Mr F. Asaré | North West Department of Education |
| Mr A. Olivier | Northern Cape Department of Education |
| Mr E. P. Nel | Free State Department of Education |

TABLE 3: SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR AGRICULTURAL TECHNOLOGIES

| REPRESENTATIVES | CONSTITUENCY |
|--------------------------|--------------------------------------|
| Mr B. Trollip | Free State Department of Education |
| Mr C. Liebenberg | Northern Cape Department of |
| | Education |
| Mr J. M. Lempe | Free State Department of Education |
| Mr N. J. Mabitsi | Harry Oppenheimer Agricultural |
| | School |
| Ms C. J. E. van Deventer | Vryheid Agricultural High School |
| Mr G. P. Viljoen | South African Agricultural Teachers' |
| | Association |

TABLE 3: SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR AGRICULTURAL TECHNOLOGIES (CONT.)

| REPRESENTATIVES | CONSTITUENCY |
|----------------------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Dr B. M. Maumbe | University of Fort Hare |
| Mr K. Sekoto | Northwest Department of Education |
| Ms C. L. Botha-Vander Westhuizen | Gauteng Department of Education |
| Mr N. P. Maluleke | Kheto Agricultural High School |

GNM Pandor, MP

Minister of Education