

# **Government Gazette**

## **REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA**

Vol. 470 Pretoria 18 August 2004 No. 26690

AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

### GOVERNMENT NOTICE

#### **DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION**

No. 981

18 August 2004

SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY ACT, 1995 (ACT NO. 58 OF 1995) AS AMENDED BY THE LAWS AMENDED ACT, 2004 (ACT NO. 1 OF 2004)

EXTENSION OF THE TERM OF OFFICE OF THE CURRENT MEMBERS SERVING ON THE SECOND SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY FOR THE PERIOD, 26 APRIL 2004 UNTIL 26 OCTOBER 2004

I, Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor, Minister of Education, in consultation with the Minister of Labour, have in terms of Section 4(4) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995), decided to extend the term of office of the following persons as members of the Second South African Qualifications Authority for six months, namely for the period 26 April until 26 October 2004.

#### 1. CHAIRPERSON

Dr M. Nkomo

#### 2. MEMBERS

2.1 Members nominated by constituencies in accordance with the provisions as stipulated in Section 3(a-p) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

MEMBER	CONSTITUENCY
Ms A. Bird	Department of Labour
Mr K. Hall	Organised Business

MEMBER	CONSTITUENCY	
Mr D. George	Orgasnised Labour	
Prof. N. Kok	Committee of Technikon Principals (CTP)	
Mr L. Giba	Organised Labour	
Mr S. Morotoba	National Skills Authority (NSA)	
Ms S. Müller	National Association of Professional Teachers	
	of South Africa (NAPTOSA)	
Prof Harry Nengwekhulu	Provincial Education departments	
Ms R. Omar	Distance Education	
Mr S. Ori	National bodies representing lecturers	
Ms M. van Rooyen	Training	
Mrs S. Steenekamp	Committee of Technical College Principals of South Africa (CTCP)	
Ms S. Mannah	South African Democratic Teachers' Union	
	(SADTU)	
Prof. J. Cooke	South African Universities' Vice-Chancellors' Association (SAUVCA)	

2.2 Discretionary appointments (not exceeding six) as stipulated in Section 4(3)(q) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

MEMBER		
Mr D. Adler		
Mr K. Mockler		
Ms P. Tyobeka		

Co-opted members (not exceeding two) as stipulated in Section 4(3)(r) of the 2.3 South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

MEMBER			
Ms A. Vieira			

#### 3. **EXOFFICIO MEMBER**

Mr S. B. A. Isaacs: Chief Executive Officer of SAQA.

G N M Pandor, MP Minister of Education