

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Regulation Gazette		No. 8019			
Vol. 469	Pretoria	23	July	2004	No. 26591



GOVERNMENT NOTICE GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWING

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE DEPARTEMENT VAN LANDBOU

No. R. 870

23 July 2004

VETERINARY AND PARA-VETERINARY PROFESSIONS AMENDMENT ACT, 2002 (ACT No. 10 OF 2002)

DATE OF COMING INTO OPERATION OF THE NEW SOUTH AFRICAN VETERINARY COUNCIL

I, Angela Thokozile Didiza, Minister of Agriculture, acting under section 16 of the Veterinary and Para-Veterinary Professions Amendment Act, 2002 (Act No. 10 of 2002), hereby declare the date of coming into operation of the new Council for the South African Veterinary Council as 30 July 2004.

Á.T. DIDIZA Minister of Agriculture

APPOINTMENT/DESIGNATION OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS OF A NEW COUNCIL FOR THE SOUTH AFRICAN VETERINARY COUNCIL

For general information it is made known that the following persons are appointed/designated as members of the Council of the South African Veterinary Council and that their term of office will commence on 30 July 2004 in terms of the provisions of the Veterinary and Para-Veterinary Professions Amendment Act, 2002 (Act No. 10 of 2002).

1. Three persons with the most votes who have automatically qualified to be members of the Council:

Dr A.P de Vos Dr J.R. Adam Dr S.M.L. Varrie

2. Three further persons designated by the Minister from the remainder of the elected persons:

Dr J. van Heerden Professor S.S. van den Berg Dr I. Sonntag

3. One person nominated by the rector of the University of Pretoria and designated by the Minister to serve on the Council:

Professor N.P.J. Kriek

4. Persons nominated by the para-veterinary professions who automatically qualify to be members of the Council:

Mr L.L.P. Sinclair Sr S.R. Kenyon Mr J.J. Muller

5. Person nominated by the South African Veterinary Association:

Dr C.P. Marwick

- 6. Persons designated by the Minister, in the following categories:
 - (a) Knowledge of Law

Advocate S.M. Masapu

(b) Veterinarians or veterinary specialists

Dr S.T. Cornelius Dr N.V.H. Nombekela-Madiba Dr R. Moerane Dr L. Moorosi

(c) One non-veterinarian

Dr M.J. Mphahlele

7. Ministerial representative

Dr M.E. Mogajane