PROCLAMATION

by the

President of the Republic of South Africa

No. 31, 2004

THE PRESIDENCY

AWARD OF THE ORDER OF LUTHULI

It is hereby notified that the above-mentioned National Order will be awarded by the President in the categories indicated to the following South African citizens in terms of the rules contained in the Warrants published in Government Gazette No. 25799 of 2 December 2003.

The Order of Luthuli

Category I: Gold

Mr Z.K Matthews (Posthumous) Mr T.T Nkobi (Posthumous) Mr Sol Plaatje (Posthumous) Mr Dan Tloome (Posthumous)

Category II: Silver

Ms Hilda Bernstein Mr Laloo Chiba Mr Clarence Makwetu Mr Mapetla Mohapi (Posthumous) Ms Josie (Palmer) Mpama (Posthumous) Mr Billy Nair Ms Rita Ndzanga Mr Joe Nhlanhla Mr Reggie September Mr Steve V. Tshwete (Posthumous)

Category III: Bronze

Ms Amina Cachalia King Frans Rasimphi Tshivhase (Posthumous)

THE PRESIDENCY

AWARD OF ORDER OF BAOBAB

It is hereby notified that the above-mentioned National Order will be awarded by the President in the categories indicated to the following South African citizens in terms of the Rules contained in the Warrants published in Government Gazette No. 24155 of 06 December 2002.

The Order of the Baobab

Category I: Gold

Dr Fabian Ribeiro (Posthumous)

Category II: Silver

Dr Brigalia Bam Rev Helenard J (Allan) Hendricks Ms Dora Ndaba Ms Jean Sinclair (Posthumous)

Category III: Silver

Ms Mirriam Cele Ms Edna Freinkel Ms Mpho Sibanyoni-Motlhasedi Prince Cabangukuhle P Zulu

THE PRESIDENCY

AWARDS OF THE ORDER OF THE COMPANIONS OF O.R TAMBO

It is hereby notified that the above-mentioned National Order will be awarded by the President in the categories indicated to the following foreign dignitaries in terms of the Rules contained in the Warrants published in Government Gazette no. 24155 of 06 December 2002.

The Order of the Companions of O.R Tambo

Category I: Gold

Mr Kofi Annan (UN)

Mr Salvador Allende (Chile) (Posthumous)

Mr Martti Ahtisaari (Finland)

Mr Ahmed Ben Bella (Algeria)

Mr Amilcar Cabral (Guinea Bissau) (Posthumous)

Dr Martin Luther King, Jnr (USA) (Posthumous)

Mr Patrice Lumumba (DRC) (Posthumous)

Mr Michael Manley (Jamaica) (Posthumous)

Dr Eduardo Mondlane (Mozambique) (Posthumous)

Dr Augustino Neto (Angola) (Posthumous)

Mr Kwame Nkrumah (Ghana) (Posthumous)

Dr Julius Nyerere (Tanzania) (Posthumous)

Mr Salim Ahmed Salim (OAU)

Category II: Silver

Ms Barbara Castle (UK) (Posthumous)

Mr Ramesh Chandra (India)

Lord Robert Hughes (UK)

Mr Michinek (Sweden)

Mr Boudewijn Sjollema (The Netherlands)

Dr Vasili G Solodovnikov (Russia)

Mr R Steen (Norway)

Mr T Stoltenberg (Norway)

Ms Maxine Waters (USA)