

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 467 Cape Town 21 May 2004 No. 26386

GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 943 OF 2004

CHIEF JUSTICE OF SOUTH AFRICA

NOTICE CALLING FOR THE NOMINATION OF ELECTORAL COMMISSIONERS

The terms of office of four of the five existing members of the Electoral Commission come to an end on 30 June 2004. The vacancies thus occurring must be filled. The Commissioners whose term comes to an end are Dr H Bam (Chairperson), Ms N Mpumlwana, Mr S van der Merwe and Professor H Vilakazi. The remaining Commissioner, the Honourable Mr Justice Hussain, was appointed in February 1999, and his term of office will continue until February 2006.

Acting in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996, the panel consisting of the Chief Justice of South Africa, a representative of the Human Rights Commission, a representative of the Commission on Gender Equality, and the Public Protector, invite the nomination of persons to be recommended for appointment as Electoral Commissioners to fill the four vacancies when they occur. The retiring Commissioners are all eligible for re-election.

The Electoral Commission consists of five members one of whom must be a judge. Commissioners may be appointed to serve on a full-time basis or a part-time basis. Presently, only the Chairperson of the Commission serves on a full-time basis. Commissioners are appointed for a term of seven years at a remuneration determined by the President after consultation with the Commission for the Remuneration of Public Office-Bearers. Details of the remuneration and benefits presently payable to Electoral Commissioners can be ascertained on enquiry to the Secretary of the panel at the address given in this notice.

The principal duties of the Electoral Commissioners are to manage elections for all national, provincial and local legislative bodies and to ensure that such elections are free and fair.

In order to qualify for appointment, a person:

- (a) Must be a South African citizen;
- (b) At the time of his or her appointment as an Electoral Commissioner, must not have a high party-political profile.

Each nomination must be accompanied by the nominee's curriculum vitae and a statement from the nominee in which he or she consents to be nominated, confirms that he or she is a South African citizen, and provides details of any past political activities. Nominess must indicate whether they are available to serve full-time, or part-time, or in either capacity.

Nominations must reach the secretary of the panel, Ms Dikeledi Thagale, by not later than 18 June 2004, at the following addresses:

*By hand: Ms Dikeledi Tlhagale

Legal Adviser to the Director General

Department of Home Affairs

Civitas Building

Room 1009, 10th Floor

Corner Struben & Andries Street

sPRETORIA

*By registered mail: Ms [

Ms Dikeledi Tlhagale

Legal Adviser to the Director General

Department of Home Affairs

Private Bax X114 PRETORIA 0001

*By fax:

Ms D Tlhagale,

Legal Advisor to the Director General of Home Affairs

PRETORIA

Fax: 012 323-2416

Attention is drawn to the fact that the panel will draw up a shortlist of candidates to be interviewed. Interviews will be open to the public and the media. Candidates will be advised of the shortlist and of the date on which interviews are to be held. Any enquiries in regard to this matter may be directed to the Secretary to the panel, Ms D Tlhagale, by telephone at (012) 314-8654, by fax at (012) 323-2416 or by e-mail at Dikeledi.Tlhagale@dha.gov.za

A CHASKALSON

Chief Justice of South Africa