

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Regulation Gazette		No. 7960			
Vol. 466	Pretoria	30	April	2004	No. 26319



GOVERNMENT NOTICE GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWING

DEPARTMENT OF MINERALS AND ENERGY DEPARTEMENT VAN MINERALE EN ENERGIE

No. R. 564

30 April 2004

MINERAL AND PETROLEUM RESOURCES DEVELOPMENT ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 28 OF 2002)

DIVISION OF THE REPUBLIC INTO REGIONS FOR THE PURPOSES OF THE MINERAL AND PETROLEUM RESOURCES DEVELOPMENT ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 28 OF 2002)

I, PHUMZILE MLAMBO-NGCUKA, Minister of Minerals and Energy, acting in terms of section 7 of the Mineral and Petroleum Resources Development Act, 2002 (Act No. 28 of 2002).

 (a) hereby divide the Republic and the adjacent sea for the purposes of the said Act into regions as more fully described hereunder:

A Western Cape Region, Northern Cape Region, Free State Region, Eastern Cape Region, KwaZulu-Natal Region, Mpumalanga Region, Limpopo Region, Gauteng Region and North-West Region in accordance with the boundaries of the provinces as described in Schedule 1 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1993 (Act No. 200 of 1993), read with section 103 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1993 (Act No. 200 of 1993), read with section 103 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1993 (Act No. 200 of 1993), read with section 103 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No 108 of 1996): Provided that the sea as defined in section 1 of the Sea-shore Act, 1935 (Act No. 21 of 1935), and the continental shelf referred to in section 8 of the Maritime Zones Act, 1994 (Act No. 15 of 1994), adjacent to and opposite regions with a coastline are included as follows in such regions:

- The northern seaward boundary of the Northern Cape Region shall be the international seaward boundary between the Republic of South Africa and the Republic of Namibia.
- (ii) The seaward boundary between the Northern Cape Region and the Western Cape Region shall be the boundary between Sea Areas No's 10 and 11 as determined by the Department of Minerals and Energy on the latitude line 31°12'53".
- (iii) The seaward boundary between the Western Cape Region and the Eastern Cape Region shall be a straight line drawn seaward at right angles to the coast from the point where the common boundary between the two regions intersects the low-water mark.
- (iv) The seaward boundary between the Eastern Cape Region and the KwaZulu-Natal Region shall be a straight line drawn seaward at right angles to the coast from the point where the common boundary between the two regions intersects the low-water mark.
- (v) The northern seaward boundary of the KwaZulu-Natal Region shall be the international seaward boundary between the Republic of South Africa and the Republic of Mozambique:

Provided further that-

 the farms Deelkraal 142, Buffelsdoorn 143, Elandsfontein 115, Elandsfontein 144, Elandsfontein 135, Elandsfontein 146, Oog van Elandsfontein 114, Kraalkop 147, Foch 150, Elandsfontein 140, Fochville Townlands, Leeuspruit 148, Foch 149, Leeuwpoort 356, Weltevreden 357, Rietfontein 519, Davonia 363, Springbokkraal 359, Wildebeestkuil 360 and Droogheuvel 521, all situated in the Registration Division IQ, in the Magisterial District of Potchefstroom, is included in the Gauteng Region and excluded from the North-West Region; and

the farms Boshoek 466, Weltevreden 130, Bellevue 365, Hermania 128, Groot Vaders Bosch 222, Gold Reef 166, Main Reef 131, Poortje 221, Kaffir Rivier 252, Witkop 132, Erasmusrus 357, Witrand 156, Pilgrim's Estate 272, Vaalburg Landing 385, Brynidris 94, Batsfontein 290, Du Pont Landing 500, Altona 50, Grootdraai 468, Pretorius Kraal 53, Edom 277, Kleinfontein 472, Sihor 275, Barberspan 452, Doornkom West 446, Crystalkop 69, Zuiping 394, Groot Vaders Bosch 470, Die Hoek 114, Mizpah 274, Moab 279, Gerar 278, Hormah 276, Doornkom Oost 447, Zaaiplaats 190, Fraai Uitzicht 189, Golden Vaal 562 and Kleinfontein 369, in the Magisterial District of Viljoenskroon, is included in the North-West Region and excluded from the Free State Region.

PHUMZILE MLAMBO-NGCUKA MINISTER OF MINERALS AND ENERGY