No. 360 26 March 2004

CHOICE ON TERMINATION OF PREGNANCY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 92 OF 1996) DESIGNATION OF A FACILITY FOR THE SURGICAL TERMINATION OF PREGNANCIES

The Minister of Health, in terms of section 3 of the Choice on Termination of Pregnancy Act, 1996 (Act No. 92 of 1996), hereby designates the institutions listed in the Schedule as facilities where the surgical termination of pregnancies may take place in accordance with the Act.

SCHEDULE

Definitions

- In this schedule any word or expression to which a meaning has been assigned in the Act shall bear such meaning and, unless the context otherwise indicates-
 - "access" means access to resources without these necessarily having to be on site at a facility;
 - "operating theatre" means an operating unit that is fully equipped to administer a local or general anaesthestic and to deal with any complication that may arise as a result of such an anaesthetic;
 - "the Act" means the Choice on Termination of Pregnancy Act, 1996 (Act No. 92 of 1996).

Requirements to be met by public and private health facilities in order to be designated as facilities for the surgical termination of pregnancies as contemplated in section 3 of the Act

- Any public or private health facility must have the following in order to be designated as a facility where the surgical termination of pregnancies may take place in terms of section 3 of the Act:
 - (a) Access to medical and nursing staff;
 - (b) access to an operating theatre;
 - (c) appropriate surgical equipment;
 - (d) drugs for intravenous and intramuscular injection;
 - (e) emergency resuscitation equipment and access to an emergency referral centre or facility;
 - (f) access to appropriate transport should the need arise for emergency transfer;
 - (g) facilities and equipment for clinical observation and access to in-patient facilities:
 - (h) appropriate infection control measures;
 - (i) access to safe waste-disposal infrastructure; and
 - (j) telephonic means of communication.

Facilities

- 3. The following public health facilities meet the requirements stated in paragraph 2 and are hereby designated as the facilities contemplated in section 3 of the Act:
 - a) Ratshaatshaa Health Clinic (Blouberg);
 - b) Montz Clinic (Blouberg);
 - c) Mamotshwa Clinic (Polokwane);
 - d) Maja Clinic (Polokwane);
 - e) Mamushi Clinic (Polokwane);
 - f) Seshego Zone 3 (Polokwane);
 - g) Moletjie Clinic (Polokwane);

- h) Nobody Clinic (Polokwane);
- i) Rethabile Health Centre (Polokwane);
- j) Lebowakgomo Hospital (Lepelle Nkumpi);
- k) Maraba Clinic (Aganang); and
- i) Everlyn Lekganyane (Polokwane).

Mohabalala

DR M.E. TSHABALALA-MSIMANG

MINISTER OF HEALTH