

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 465 Pretoria 3 March 2004 No. 26119

AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 285

3 March 2004

NATIONAL EDUCATION POLICY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1996) AND THE SOUTH AFRICAN SCHOOLS ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 84 OF 1996) AS AMENDED

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE PROPOSED

MANAGEMENT STRUCTURES WITH THE AIM OF DEVELOPING

ADDITIONAL SUBJECTS TO BE INCLUDED IN THE NATIONAL

CURRICULUM STATEMENT GRADES 10-12 (GENERAL)

- 1. The Minister of Education, hereby, in terms of Section 3(4)(1) of the National Education Policy Act, 1996 (Act No. 27 of 1996) and Section 61 of the South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act. No. 84 of 1996) as amended, approved the establishment of a Ministerial Project Committee and associated curriculum development structures with the aim of developing additional subjects to be included in the National Curriculum Statement Grades 10-12 (General) hereafter referred to as the "NCS".
- On 16 September 2003 he has declared the NCS Grades 10-12 (General) as national education policy. In view of the requests received from stakeholder bodies and members of the public to develop additional subjects to be included in the NCS, he has decided to approve a second curriculum development phase with the aim of developing two additional subjects, namely Religion Studies and Civil Technology.
- 3. To guarantee mobility and articulation between the vocational and the trade occupational professional pathways, it is deemed necessary that the newly developed technical subjects statements for Engineering Graphics and Design, Electrical Technology and Mechanical Technology, to be offered in the vocational pathway, be reviewed with the aim of ensuring that they are aligned

with the already developed unit standards that will be offered in the trade occupational professional pathway.

4. In response to his call in the *Government Gazette, Vol. 460, No. 25636* of 28 October 2003 for nominations for people to serve on the various curriculum development structures of the second phase of the NCS, the Minister of Education has appointed the following persons to serve on the already approved curriculum development structures:

MINISTERIAL PROJECT COMMITTEE

MEMBERS	DESIGNATION
Prof. Y. Seleti	Project Manager and Field Expert
Dr I. S.Vd M. Burger	Field Expert: Religion Studies
Ms K. D. Hogan	Field Expert: Civil Technology
Mr A. E. Cassim	Field Expert: Mechanical Technology
Mr P. F. de Villiers	Field Expert: Electrical Technology
Mr S. J. Mkhwanazi	Field Expert: Engineering Graphics and Design
Mr M. Sekese	Head of Secretariat
Mr M. Matlala	Subject Co-ordinator: Technology subjects
Mr J. Phelago	Subject Co-ordinator: Religion Studies
Mr W. A .P. Ras	Subject Co-ordinator Foreign Languages

SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR RELIGION STUDIES

REPRESENTATIVES	CONSTITUENCY
Dr N. Mndende	Commission for the promotion and Protection
	of Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic
	Communities
Dr S. Mandlazi	Mpumalanga Department of Education
Rabbi C. Kacev	South African Board of Jewish Education
Mr M. van Staden	Northern Cape Department of Education
Dr J. S. Kruger	UNISA
Mr H. C. Summers	Catholic Schools Office
Mrs H. du Toit	Suid-Afrikaanse Onderwysersunie
Mr N. Rehman	KwaZulu-Natal Department of Education
Mr K.A. Maponyane	Limpopo Department of Education
Mr K. H. Maharaj	KwaZulu-Natal Department of Education
Mr D. Ngobeni	SADTU
Ms D. Moodley	NAPTOSA
Rev. C.R. Mason	Minister of Religion
Mr M.F. Latief	Muslim Judicial Society
Rev. B.J. Mdhlela	South African Council of Churches

SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR CIVIL TECHNOLOGY

REPRESENTATIVES	CONSTITUENCY
Mr L. J. Grobler	Gauteng Department of Education
Ms M. M. A. Sikhosana	Gauteng Department of Education
Mr N. J. van Zyl	North West Department of Education
Mr F. P. Liddle	Limpopo Department of Education
Ms Z. R. Mdima	Mpumalanga Department of Education
Mr J. Burger	Western Cape Department of
·	Education

SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR CIVIL TECHNOLOGY (CONT.)

REPRESENTATIVES	CONSTITUENCY
Dr A. J. Geertsema	Technicon Pretoria
Mr J. F. Kobe	Mpumalanga Department of Education
Mr G. Maredi	Soshanguve Technical High School
Mr P. C. Owen	CSETA/BIFSA

SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR ENGINEERING GRAPHICS AND DESIGN

REPRESENTATIVES	CONSTITUENCY
Mr S. Olivier	Langenhoven Gymnasium – KwaZulu-
	Natal Department of Education
Mr O. Sadeck	Western-Cape Department of
	Education
Mr M. Thoka	Escom
Mr S.J. Molekwa	Mamelodi College – Gauteng
	Department of Education
Mr A. C. Jacobs	Northern Cape Department of
	Education
Mr A. E. Theron	KwaZulu-Natal Department of
	Education
Mr L. P. Teffo	Soshanguve Technical High School
Mr N. C. Haines	KwaZulu-Natal Department of
	Education
Mr M. D. Govender	Joosub High, Gauteng Department of
	Education
Mr P. L. de Waal	NAPTOSA

SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR ELECTRICAL TECHNOLOGY

REPRESENTATIVES	CONSTITUENCY
Mr N. Ingle	George Campbell School of
	Technology
Mr G. Atkinson-Hope	CTP - Cape Technikon
Mr A. Combrinck	Potchefstroom University
Mr L .S. Phatudi	Limpopo Department of Education
Mr J. F. H. Randewijk	Western Cape Department of
	Education
Mr E. S. Maphumulo	Mpumalanga Department of Education
Mr T. M. Adams	Western Cape Department of
	Education
Mr M. Jacobus	North West Department of Education
Mr P. J. Kraft	Atteridgeville College
Mr W. C. Mooiman	NAPTOSA

SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR MECHANICAL TECHNOLOGY

REPRESENTATIVES	CONSTITUENCY
Mr E. C. Semenya	Phateng Comprehensive School -
	Gauteng Department of Education
Mr H. Barnard	Free State Department of Education
Mr M. W Monareng	Mpumalanga Department of Education
Mr A. Lategan	Western Cape Department of
	Education
Ms E. Zawilska	KwaZulu-Natal Department of
	Education
Mr S. B. Khumalo	Gauteng Department of Education
Dr G. I. J. Koch	Northern Cape Department of
	Education

The second section of the second second second second second second second second section section section second s

SUBJECT WORKING GROUP FOR MECHANICAL TECHNOLOGY (CONT.)

REPRESENTATIVES	CONSTITUENCY
Mr M. W. Beyers	Western Cape Department of
	Education
Mr D. Louwrens	Technikon Pretoria
Mr L. C. de Lange	NAPTOSA

Prof. Kader Asmal, MP Minister of Education

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737

Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531