No. 1701

14 November 2003

HIGHER EDUCATION ACT, 1997 (ACT No. 101 OF 1997) MERGER OF PUBLIC HIGHER EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS

THE UNIVERSITY OF PORT ELIZABETH AND THE PORT ELIZABETH TECHNIKON

I, Professor Kader Asmal, MP, Minister of Education, in accordance with section 23(1) of the Higher Education Act, 1997 (Act No. 101 of 1997), and after consulting the Council on Higher Education, hereby merge the University of Port Elizabeth and the Port Elizabeth Technikon into a single public higher education institution. The date of the establishment of the new institution, the type and name of the new institution, the physical location and official address of the new institution, the composition of the interim council and the transitional arrangements required to ensure the effective implementation of the merger process are set out in the Schedule hereto

Professor Kader Asmal, MP Minister of Education

SCHEDULE

The date of the establishment of the new institution 1 January 2005

The type and name of the new institution

A university to be known as the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University.

The physical location and official address of the new institution

- (a) The physical location of the merged institution will be in Port Elizabeth (seat). The official address is University Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth, 6001.
- (b) I hereby approve the carrying out of teaching and research activities by the new institution beyond the seat contemplated in paragraph (a) on the George campuses formerly operated by one of the merging institutions.

Establishment of Interim Council

An interim council is established for a period not exceeding six months, to perform the functions relating to governance, except the function to make the institutional statute. The Interim Council must in particular -

- appoint an interim body to manage the day-to-day activities of the institution;
- ensure that a council is constituted in terms of the standard institutional statute
- ensure the establishment of such other structures as may be determined in the standard institutional statute

The composition of the interim council

The Chairperson shall be: Judge Fikile Bam

The eight members shall be:

- Dr M Chabula
- Mr S Dondolo
- Mr M C Gawe
- Mr N Hendricks
- Mr T Jennings
- Mr A N Mohamed
- Dr S Ngapi
- Mr C L Stanton

The transitional arrangements

The two merging higher education institutions' rolls of convocation are combined to establish a single roll of members of convocation for the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University from which roll the office-bearers of the convocation shall be elected in terms of the standard institutional statute. Until such election the existing office-bearers shall jointly fulfil their respective duties and functions.

The Students' Representative Councils of the two merging institutions shall continue to co-exist as separate entities until such time as the interim council or the council can constitute a new Students' Representative Council in terms of the standard institutional statute. In the interim period the respective roles, functions and duties of the two Students' Representative Councils shall be determined by the interim council.