## **NOTICE 2288 OF 2003**

## DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT CALL FOR THE NOMINATION OF LABOUR REPRESENTATIVES WHO ARE INVOLVED IN THE RAIL SAFETY INDUSTRY TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF THE RAILWAY SAFETY REGULATOR

The Railway Safety Regulator is a juristic person established for the purpose of overseeing safety in the railway industry in accordance with the provisions of the National Railway Safety Regulator Act, 2002 (Act 16 of 2002). The Regulator has a Board, whose functions are to ensure that the Regulator strives for the achievement of the objects described in the Act and to exercise general control over the performance of the functions of the Regulator. The Board serves for a period of three years and is accountable to the Minister of Transport.

The Board of the Regulator meets as often as the business of the Regulator may require and will have a fixed schedule of meetings per annum. Members shall be remunerated for services rendered as members, or as members of committees of the Board, and reimbursed for reasonable expenses incurred in attending meetings or committee meetings of the Board.

In terms of the Act, the Minister of Transport is required to appoint at least one representative from Organized Labour to hold office as member of the Board. Such member may not be a Member of: Parliament; a Provincial Legislature; Municipal Council; the Cabinet; or the Executive Council of a Province and must have wide experience of and demonstrate acumen in one or more of the following:

- o Management of railways;
- o Safety in transportation;
- o Corporate Management;
- Commerce, finance, legal and economic matters;
- o Transportation of dangerous goods; and
- Special knowledge that could be of value to the Regulator in the performance of its functions.

Therefore, I, Jeff Radebe, Acting Minister of Transport, hereby in terms of section 8(7)(a) of the National Railway Safety Regulator Act, 2002, call for the nomination of representatives from Organized Labour who are involved in the rail safety industry and who comply with the above requirements.

After the closing date for the nominations, a panel will be appointed by the Minister, which may include representatives of the relevant Committees of Parliament, who will compile a shortlist from which the Minister may appoint one representative from Organized Labour to serve on the Board.

Nominations accompanied by a motivation, the curriculum vitae of the nominee and a letter of acceptance of nomination by the nominee, must be forwarded to:

Mr. Mosenngwa Mofi

Telephone:

(012) 309 3197

General Manager: Corporate Support Services

Fax:

(012) 309 3723

Department of Transport

E-mail:

mofim@ndot.pwv.gov.za

Private Bag x 193
PRETORIA
0001

The closing date for nominations is 26 September 2003.

Mr Jeff Radebe, MP
ACTING MINISTER OF TRANSPORT