BOARD NOTICE 78 OF 2003

SOUTH AFRICAN DENTAL TECHNICIANS COUNCIL

APPOINTMENT AND ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

In terms of the provisions of Section 5(4) of the Dental Technicians Act, 1979 (Act 19 of 1979) as amended by the Dental Technicians Amendment Act, 1997 (Act 43 of 1997) it is hereby made known that the following persons have been appointed or elected in terms of Section 5(1) of the said Act as members of the South African Dental Technicians Council for a period of five years from 1 April 2003 to 31 March 2008.

1. The Director of Oral Health of the Department of Health:

Dr F J Smit

2. Appointed by the Minister of Health:

(a) A dentist attached to a university having a dental faculty: Dr H M Mosoane - MEDUNSA

(b) Dental technician attached to an institution at which dental technicians are educated and trained:

Mr S Moodaley – Technikon Peninsula

(c) Three members of the public who were appointed after calling through the media for nominations by the public and who are not registered in terms of the Act or the Medical, Dental and Supplementary Health Service Professions Act, 1974 (Act 56 of 1974), of whom at least one shall be appointed on account of his or her knowledge of the law:

Ms M A Moraka Mr M P Mokgotho Adv F K Manamela (Trained in law)

3. Two dental technician contractors elected by dental technician contractors:

Mr A J G Ferreira Mr D S Owen

4. Two dental technician or dental technologists who practise the profession of dental technician or dental technologist, as the case may be, as employees and who are nominated and elected in the prescribed manner by dental technicians or dental technologists, as the case may be, thus practising that profession:

Mr S J Vermaak Mr F du Plessis

5. One dentist elected by dentists: Dr T S L Sizane