

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Regulation Gazette		No. 7725			
Vol. 457	Pretoria	25	July	2003	No. 25220



No. 25220 3

PROCLAMATIONS

by the

President of the Republic of South Africa

No. R. 58, 2003

SPECIAL INVESTIGATING UNITS AND SPECIAL TRIBUNALS ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 74 OF 1996): REFERRAL OF MATTERS TO EXISTING SPECIAL INVESTIGATING UNIT AND SPECIAL TRIBUNAL

WHEREAS allegations as contemplated in section 2(2) of the Special Investigating Units and Special Tribunals Act. 1996 (Act No. 74 of 1996), have been made in respect of the affairs of the offices of the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development mentioned in Column A of the Schedule (hereinafter referred to as "the Department");

AND WHEREAS I deem it necessary that the said allegations should be investigated and justiciable civil disputes emanating from such investigation should be adjudicated upon;

NOW, THEREFORE, I hereby, under section 2(1) of the said Act, refer the matters mentioned in Column B of the Schedule in respect of the offices listed in Column A for investigation to the Special Investigating Unit established by Proclamation No. R. 118 of 31 July 2001 and determine that, for the purposes of the investigation of these matters, the terms of reference of the Special Investigating Unit, are to investigate as contemplated in the said Act, any -

- (a) serious maladministration in connection with the affairs of the Department;
- (b) improper or unlawful conduct by officials of the Department;
- (c) unlawful appropriation or expenditure of public money or property;
- (d) unlawful. irregular or unapproved acquisitive act. transaction. measure or practice having a bearing upon State property;
- (e) intentional or negligent loss of public money or damage to public property:
- (f) corruption in connection with the affairs of the Department; or
- (g) unlawful or improper conduct by any person which has caused or may cause serious harm to the interests of the public or any category thereof.

which has taken place between 1 January 1996 and the date of publication of this Proclamation and to exercise or perform all the functions and powers assigned to or conferred upon the said Special Investigating Unit by the said Act in relation to the said matters.

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of South Africa at Pretoria this sixteenth day of July Two thousand and three.

T. M. MBEKI

President

By Order of the President-in-Cabinet:

P. M. MADUNA Minister of the Cabinet

SCHEDULE

Column A		Colu	mn B
Part 1			
Magistrates' Offices		1.	The performance of bank reconciliations or cash
1.	Libode		reconciliations.
2.	Maluti	2.	The reporting on cash shortages and the steps
3.	Ngqeleni		taken to recover it.
4.	Port Elizabeth	3.	The recovery of the amounts of dishonored
5.	Umtata	•	cheques paid to the Department.
6.	Phuthaditjihaba	4.	The receipt, recording, monitoring and payment of
7.	Makwane		fines and deferred fines.
8.	Tseseng	5.	The receipt and payment by officials of the
9.	Wepener		Department of maintenance monies.
10.	Thaba [•] Nchu	6.	The receipt and payment by officials of the
11.	Benoni		Department of bail monies.
12.	Randburg	7.	The receipt and payment by officials of the
13.	Johannesburg		Department of estate monies.
14.	Soshanguve	8.	The payment by officials of the Department of
15.	Vereeniging		money due to the South African Revenue Service.
16.	Chatsworth		Local Councils and the Master of the High Court.
17.	Nkandla	9.	The payment of subsistence and travel advances
18.	Impendle		and claims to officials of the Department and the
19.	Madadeni		recovery of subsistence and travel advances by
20.	Ntuzuma		officials of the Department.
21.	Seshego	10.	The use and control of State vehicles and fuel
22.	Tzaneen		expenses incurred in connection therewith.
23.	Naphuno	11.	The capturing of data on the Department's
24.	Giyani		computerized Financial Management System by
25.	Thoyohando		officials of the Department.
26.	Kwamhlanga	12.	The issuing of housing guarantees and motor
27.	Mbibane		vehicle finance guarantees.
28.	Mkobola	13.	The loss and/or theft and/or misappropriation of
29.	Nkomazi		monies administered by officials of the

.

30.	Nsikazi		Department.
31.	Odi	14.	The payment for overtime to officials of the
32.	Lehurutse		Department
33.	Taung		
34.	Ganyesa		
35.	Brits		
36.	Mitchells Plain		
37.	Somerset Wes		
38.	Clanwilliam		
39.	Simonstown		
40.	Porterville		
Part II			Matters incidental to the investigation of the
1.	National Office		matters mentioned in Column B of Part I in
2.	Regional Offices		respect of the offices listed opposite thereto in
	-		Column A.