BOARD NOTICE 55 OF 2003

NOTICE OF APPLICATION FOR AMENDMENT OF THE DEFINITION OF PRODUCTION AREA: DURBANVILLE

(In terms of Section 6 of the Wine of Origin Scheme established under section 14 of the Liquor Products Act, 1989 (Act No. 60 of 1989), and published by Government Notice No. R.1434 of 29 June 1990)

Notice is hereby given that Distell has applied to the Wine and Spirit Board to amend the definition of the area known as Durbanville (ward) as set out in Government Notice R1060 or 26 May 1989 and by the substitution herefor of the definition in the Schedule hereto.

Anyone having any objection against this application is hereby notified to lodge their objections, with motivations, in writing with the Secretary, Wine and Spirit Board, P O Box 2176, Dennesig, Stellenbosch, 7599 within 30 (thirty) days of publication of this notice.

SCHEDULE

DEFINING OF PRODUCTION AREA DURBANVILLE

That portion of land situate within the following boundaries:

Start at the northernmost point of the Tygerberg Nature Reserve, in the vicinity of Kanonberg on the Tygerberg; thence north-west with the eastern boundary of Plattekloof 394 to the north-eastern beacon thereof; thence south-west with the northern boundary of said Plattekloof 394 to the north-western beacon thereof; thence north-west with an imaginary straight line to the south-western beacon of land 256; thence north with the western boundary of said land 256 to the northwestern beacon thereof; thence north with an imaginary straight line to a point where the 80 metre contour line intersects the southern boundary of land 208; thence north with said contour line to a point where it intersects the north-western boundary of said land 208; thence north-east with the north-western boundary of said land 208 to the northern beacon thereof; thence north-east with an imaginary straight line to beacon 214; thence north with a further imaginary straight line to the south-western beacon of Welvergenoegd 137; thence east with the northern boundaries of land 1098 and Hoogekraal 1411 to the north-eastern beacon of last-mentioned land: thence east with an imaginary straight line to beacon 213; thence south-east with a further imaginary straight line to the northern beacon of land 185; thence first south-west and then generally south-east with the northwestern and south-western boundaries of said land 185 to the southernmost beacon thereof; thence south-west with the south-eastern boundaries of Diemersdal 166 and land 941 to the southern beacon of last-mentioned land; thence generally south-west with the general western boundaries of the townships Schoongesicht, Aurora, Durbanville Hills, Kenridge and Protea Valley to a point where the western boundary of last-mentioned township joins the northeastern boundary of the Tygerberg Nature Reserve; thence north-west with the north-western boundary of said reserve to the northernmost point thereof, the point of beginning mentioned above.

[All indications in this description refer to the topographical map of South Africa 1:50 000, Sheet 3318DC Bellville (seventh edition)]