No. 327

28 February 2003

AWARD OF THE ORDER FOR MERITORIOUS SERVICE

It is hereby notified that the above-mentioned National Orders were awarded by the President in the classes indicated to the following South African citizens in terms of the Rules contained in the Warrants published in Government Gazette no. 10493 of 24 October 1986.

The Order for Meritorious Service

Class I: Gold

Hurley Archbishop D.E

Kathrada Mr A.M

Klaaste Mr A Z

Mbeki Mr M G.A

Mhlaba Mr M.R

Mkwayi Mr Z.W

Mlangeni Mr M.A

Motlana Dr N.H

Oppenheimer Mr H.F

Rupert Dr A

Sisulu Mrs N.A

Abdurahman Dr A (posthumously)

Biko Mr S (posthumously)

Dadoo Mr Y.M (posthumously)

Fischer Mr A.L (posthumously)

Joseph Ms H (posthumously)

Kies Mr B (posthumously)

Kotane Mr M.M (posthumously)

Marks Mr J B (posthumously)

Motsoaledi Mr M.E (posthumously)

Ngoyi Ms L (posthumously)

Nokwe Mr D (posthumously)

Sobukwe Mr R (posthumously)

Tiro Mr O.A (posthumously)

Class II: Silver

Alexander-Simons Mrs R

Bizos Adv G

Boonzaier Mr G

Brownell Mr F.G

Eybers Ms E

Gwanga Mr J

Ibrahim Dr A

Khuzwayo Dr E

Magubane Mr P

Makeba Ms M

Masekela Mr H

Mbeki Mrs Z

Meer Prof F

Moloi Lt-Genl L.S.L.N

Mompati Ms R.S

Msimang Mr M.M.T.B

Schoeman Mr K

Shope Mrs G

Van der Merwe Mr S.S

Williams-De Bruyn Mrs S

Baard Ms F (posthumously)

Mafikeng Ms E (posthumously)

Matomela Ms F (posthumously)

Matshikiza Mr T (posthumously)

Mntwana Ms I (posthumously)

Molale Ms K (posthumously)

Mpetha Mr O (posthumously)

Nyembe Ms D (posthumously)

September Mrs H (posthumously)

Tamane Ms D (posthumously)