

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 455	Pretoria	16	Мау	2003	No. 24845
----------	----------	----	-----	------	-----------



STAATSKOERANT, 16 MEI 2003

No. 24845 7

GOVERNMENT NOTICES GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE DEPARTEMENT VAN LANDBOU

No. 638

16 May 2003

CONSERVATION OF AGRICULTURAL RESOURCES ACT, 1983 (Act No. 43 of 1983)

FIRE/SNOW RELIEF SCHEME OF 2002

I, Thokozile Angela Didiza, Minister for Agriculture and Land Affairs, acting under section 8, read with section 9, of the Conservation of Agricultural Resources Act, 1983 (Act No. 43 of 1983), hereby establish the Fire/Snow Relief Scheme of 2002, hereinafter referred to as " the Scheme", set out in the schedule below.

Thokozile Angela Didiza Minster for Agriculture and Land Affairs

SCHEDULE

1. Name of the Scheme

The scheme shall be known as the Fire/Snow Relief Scheme of 2002, hereinafter known as the Scheme

2. Objective of the Scheme

The objective of the Scheme shall be to assist farmers out of monies appropriated by parliament to replace half of the animals that died during the Fires/Snow that occurred in July 2002.

3. Period for which the scheme shall apply

The Scheme shall apply to those farmers who suffered the damages due to the fires/snow that occurred in July 2002.

Only assessments that were made by the Provincial Departments of Agriculture and its assigned agents will qualify for assistance.

4. Assistance

The Scheme will only be applicable in respect of cattle, sheep and goats.

The value of animals will be expressed in terms of the universally accepted cow unit value. A cow unit is equal to R3000/animal.

5. Areas to which the Scheme applies

The Scheme shall apply to the following areas:

FREE STATE PROVINCE

AREAS
Frankfort
Heilbron
Kestell
Qwa Qwa
Sasolburg
Vrede
Reitz
Saaihoek
Thaba Nchu
Weltevrede

KWAZULU-NATAL PROVINCE

AREAS	
Cedarvilie	
Underberg	
Swartberg	
Amakhuze	
Amagwane	
Bhidla	
Gomane	
Memela	

MPUMALANGA PROVINCE

AREAS
Morgenzon
Bethal
Ermelo
Amersfoort
Kinross
Machadodorp
Greylingstad
Standerton
Volksrust
Balfour

NORTH WEST PROVINCE

AREAS	
Potchefstroom	
Ventersdorp	
Zeerust	

EASTERN CAPE PROVINCE

AREAS
Elliot
Bolo
Cala
Ugie
Alfred Nzo
Qumbu
Tabankulu
Eng cobo
Tsolo

. .

6. Method of Assistance

- Funds will be transferred to the Provincial Treasury of the above-mentioned provinces not later than 31 March 2003 subject to their acceptance of the conditions contained here in.
- Each Province may appoint an agent of its own choice to distribute the funds at its own cost.

7. Administration of the Scheme

The Scheme will be administered by the Provinces and the appointed agencies of their choice.

8. Assessment process

Assessments have to be signed by the farmer and verified by the Extension Officer and one of the following:

- Chairperson of farmers Association
- Induna/Inkosi/Tribal Authority
- Senior Agricultural Officer

Natural persona must submit an official identity document and legal persona must submit certificate of registration when claiming the funds.