

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Regulation Gazette No. 7655

Vol. 455 Pretoria 2 May 2003 No. 24811

AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

GOVERNMENT NOTICES

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

No. R. 579

2 May 2003

HEALTH PROFESSIONS ACT, 1974 (ACT NO. 56 OF 1974)

REGULATIONS RELATING TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE PROFESSIONAL BOARD FOR PHYSIOTHERAPY, PODIATRY AND BIOKINETICS

The Minister of Health has, in terms of section 15 of the Health Professions Act, 1974 (Act No. 56 of 1974), on the recommendation of the Health Professions Council of South Africa, to make the regulations in the Schedule.

Interested persons are invited to submit any substantiated comments or representations on the proposed regulations to the Director- General of Health, Private Bag X828, Pretoria, 001 (for the attention of the Director: Human Resource Development), within 6 weeks of the date of publication of this notice.

SCHEDULE

1. Definitions

In these regulations "the Act" means the Health Professions Act, 1974 (Act No. 56 of 1974), and any expression to which a meaning has been assigned in the Act shall bear such meaning and, unless the context indicates otherwise -

"board" means the Professional Board for Physiotherapy, Podiatry and Biokinetics established, in terms of section 15 of the Act, under Government Notice No. R. 75 of 16 January 1998;

"previously disadvantaged individuals" means persons who were previously disadvantaged by unfair discrimination and who, in terms of section 9(2) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act No. 108 of 1996), may be protected and advanced to achieve equality and, for the purposes of these regulations, includes the following designated groups:

- (a) Men of African, Asian or coloured descent;
- (b) women, irrespective of descent; and
- (c) disabled persons, irrespective of descent;

"section" means a section of the Act.

2. Constitution of the board

- (1) The board shall consist of the following 14 members who permanently reside in South Africa:
 - (a) Five physiotherapists, of whom -
 - (i) three shall be previously disadvantaged individuals; and
 - (ii) two shall be men;
 - (b) two podiatrists, of whom -
 - at least one shall be a previously disadvantaged individual;
 and
 - (ii) one shall be a woman;
 - (c) two biokineticists of whom -

- at least one shall be a previously disadvantaged individual;
 and
- (ii) one shall be a woman;
- (d) one person representing the educational institutions accredited by the board where education and training for the professions referred to in paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) are conducted;
- (e) one person representing the health authorities, who shall be appointed by the Minister; and
- (f) three community representatives, who shall be appointed by the Minister.
- (2) The five physiotherapists referred to in subregulation (1)(a) shall be elected by persons with registered postal addresses in South Africa and whose names appear on -
 - (a) the register of physiotherapists;
 - (b) the register of supplementary physiotherapists;
 - (c) the register of physiotherapy assistants; or
 - (d) the register of masseurs and remedial gymnasts.
- (3) The two podiatrists referred to in subregulation (1)(b) shall be elected by persons with registered postal addresses in South Africa and whose names appear on -
 - (a) the register of podiatrists; or

- (b) the register of supplementary podiatrists.
- (4) The two biokineticists referred to in subregulation (1)(c) shall be elected by persons with registered postal addresses in South Africa and whose names appear on -
 - (a) the register of biokineticists; or
 - (b) the register of supplementary biokineticists.
- (5) The person representing the educational institutions referred to in subregulation (1)(d) shall be appointed by such institutions.

3. Repeal

The Regulations relating to the Constitution of a Professional Board for Physiotherapy, Podiatry and Biokinetics published under Government Notice No. R. 308 of 27 February 1998 are hereby repealed with effect from the date immediately preceding the date of the first meeting of the board constituted in terms of these regulations.

DR M E TSHABALALA-MSIMANG

MINISTER OF HEALTH