## **NOTICE 63 OF 2003**

## MINISTRY OF TRANSPORT

## CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF THE ROAD ACCIDENT FUND

The Road Accident Fund is a national public entity established for the purpose of paying compensation—in accordance with the provisions of the Road Accident Fund Act, 1996—for loss or damage wrongfully caused by the driving of motor vehicles within the Republic.

The Fund has a Board, whose function is to ensure that the Fund strives for the achievement of the objects described in the Act and exercise overall authority and control over the financial position, operation and management of the Fund. The Board serves for a period of three years and is accountable to the Minister of Transport. The term of office of the current Board expires on 1 June 2003.

A new Board should thus now be constituted. It is the intention and the expectation that the new Board will serve until 1 June 2006.

In terms of the Act, the Minister of Transport is required to appoint at least eight, but not more than twelve persons to hold office as members of the Board. Those members of the Board—

- · may not be in full-time employment of any government; and
- should not have any direct or indirect interest in the statutory functions, duties and obligations of the Fund.

## They must-

- each command extensive experience in one or more of the fields of insurance, finance, medical services provision, law, accounting and actuarial science, or in matters relating to disabled persons, road users, commuters' or consumers' interests and
- · at all times act in the best interest of the Fund.

The Board of the Fund meets as often as the business of the Fund may require and has a fixed schedule of four meetings per annum. Members are remunerated for services rendered as members, and reimbursed for all reasonable expenses incurred in attending meetings of the Board.

Now, therefore, I, Abdulah Mohamed Omar, Minister of Transport, hereby in terms of section 10 (9) (a) (i) of the Road Accident Fund Act, 1996, call for the nominations of persons who comply with the above requirements.

After the closing date for nominations, a list of nominees will be published. A selection committee will then be established, comprised of the Director-General: Transport, one member of the Portfolio Committee on transport (National Assembly), one member of the Select Committee on Public Services (National Council of Provinces), and two other persons appointed by the Minister of Transport on account of relevant experience. The Selection Committee will conduct interviews in public with the nominees, whereafter the Committee will make recommendations to the Minister. The Minister will take these recommendations into account when appointing persons to the relevant positions on the Board.

Note: Nominees must disclose to the Director-General: Transport particulars of all registrable financial interests.

Nominations, accompanied by motivation, the curriculum vitae of the nominee and a letter of acceptance of nomination by the nominee, must be forwarded to:

Mr Arius Malatji Manager: Resource Management National Department of Transport Private Bag X193 PRETORIA 0001

Telephone: (012) 309-3201 Fax: (012) 309-3275

E-mail: malatjia@ndot.pwv.gov.za

The closing date for nominations is Friday, 14 February 2003.

(31 January 2003)