## NOTICE 2078 OF 2002

## CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF THE NATIONAL RAILWAY SAFETY REGULATOR

The Railway Safety Regulator is a juristic person established for the purpose of overseeing safety in the railway industry in accordance with the provisions of the National Railway Safety Regulator Act, 2002 (Act 16, 2002).

The Regulator has a Board, whose function is to ensure that the Regulator strives for the achievement of the objects described in the Act, and exercise general control over the performance of the functions of the Regulator. The Board serves for a period of three years and is accountable to the Minister of Transport.

In terms of the Act, the Minister of Transport is required to appoint at least seven, but not more than thirteen persons to hold office as members of the Board. Those members of the Board may not be a Member of Parliament, a Provincial Legislature, Municipal Council, the Cabinet, or the Executive Council of a Province.

They must have wide experience of and demonstrate acumen in one or more of the following:

Management of railways;

safety in transportation;

Corporate Management;

commerce, finance, legal and economic matters;

transportation of dangerous goods; and

special knowledge that could be of value to the Regulator in the performance of its functions.

The Board of the Regulator meets as often as the business of the Regulator may require and will have a fixed schedule of meeting per annum. Members shall be remunerated for services rendered as members, or as members of committees of the Board, and reimbursed for reasonable expenses incurred in attending meetings or committee meetings of the Board.

Now, therefor, I, Abdulah Mohamed Omar, Minister of Transport, hereby in terms of section 8 (7) (a) of the National Railway Safety Regulator Act, 16, 2002, call for the nomination of persons who comply with the above requirements.

After the closing date for the nominations, a list of nominees will be published. A panel will be appointed by the Minister, which may include representatives of the relevant committees of Parliament, who will compile a shortlist from which the Minister may appoint persons to the relevant positions on the Board.

Nominations accompanied by a motivation, the curriculum vitae of the nominee and a letter of acceptance of nomination by the nominee, must be forwarded to:

Mr. Arius Malatji Manager: Resource Management Department of Transport Private Bag X193 PRETORIA 0001 Telephone (012) 309-3201 Fax (012) 309-3207 E-mail: malatjia@ndot.pwv.gov.za

The closing date for nominations is 8 November 2002.

## A. M. OMAR

Minister of Transport

(25 October 2002)