

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 448 Pretoria 7 October 2002 No. 23920

AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 1269

7 October 2002

NATIONAL EDUCATION POLICY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1996)

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE MINISTERIAL PROJECT COMMITTEE TO INVESTIGATE THE POSSIBILITIES AND PROCESSES REGARDING THE INTEGRATION OF SENIOR SECONDARY SCHOOLS INTO THE FURTHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING (FET) SYSTEM WITH SPECIAL REFERENCE TO FUNDING AND GOVERNANCE

The Minister of Education, has in terms of Section 3(4)(1) of the National Education Policy Act, 1996 (Act No. 27 of 1996), relating to curriculum frameworks, core syllabuses and education programmes, learning standards, examinations and the certification of qualification, approved the establishment of a Ministerial Project Committee to investigate the possibilities and processes regarding the integration of senior secondary schools into the Further Education and Training (FET) system with special reference to funding and governance.

In summary the Terms of Reference for the Ministerial Committee will include:

- > reporting on the current institutional landscape in FET;
- designing by the existing specialization, the roles and mandates of institutions;
- > making recommendations for the consolidation of senior secondary schools;
- > proposing funding and governance mechanisms for the sector; and
- > advising on the declaration of the senior secondary schools as FET institutions.

Considering the above, he have appointed the following persons as members of the Ministerial Project Committee to investigate the possibilities and processes regarding the integration of senior secondary schools into the Further Education and Training (FET) system with special reference to funding and governance:

Ministerial Project Committee

NAME	CONSTITUENCY
Prof. J. Jansen (Chairperson)	University of Pretoria
Mr M. J. Myburgh	National Professional Teachers' Organisation of South Africa
Mr J. Wagenaar	Chairperson of Technical Schools for the Suid-Afrikaanse Onderwysunie
Mr G. Phalane	Agricultural Schools
Ms T. Dipholo	South African Democratic Teachers' Union
Mr B. Maja	Human Sciences Research Council
Mr V. L. Lerotholi	Vice-chairman: National Technical Schools Association
Ms N. Mthiyane	University of Natal

Prof. Kader Asmal, MP Minister of Education

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510

Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737

Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001

Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737

Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531