## **NOTICE 398 OF 2002**

### DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND TOURISM

# INVITATION TO INTERESTED PERSONS TO SUBMIT NAMES FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE BOARD OF THE NATIONAL BOTANICAL INSTITUTE

I, Mohammed Valli Moosa, Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, hereby in terms of Regulation 34 of *Government Gazette* Notice No. R. 629 of 28 April 1995 and section 59 of the Forest Act, 1984 (Act No. 122 of 1984) invite all interested persons to submit to me, within 30 days from the date of publication of this notice in the *Gazette*, the names of persons who in the opinion of such persons are suitable to be appointed as members of the Board of the National Botanical Institute.

Nominations together with curricula vitae, must be sent to the following address: Ms J.F. de Coning, Deputy Director: Office of the Director-General, Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, Private Bag X447, Pretoria, 0001, Fax: (012) 322-9231 or e-mail fdeconing@ozone.pwv.gov.za

#### M.V. MOOSA

## Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism

## **GENERAL INFORMATION**

The mission of the Board of the National Botanical Institute is to provide the facilities, knowledge and expertise necessary to ensure the conservation, sustained use, appreciation and enjoyment of South Africa's exceptionally rich flora.

In order to achieve this mission, nominees to the board should be representative of the South African society and have expertise in the following areas:

- Conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity;
- trade in biodiversity;
- conservation management;
- · zoology;
- botany;
- horticulture;
  - · entomology;
  - ornithology;
  - taxonomy;
  - bioprospecting;
  - traditional knowledge:
  - intellectual property right;
  - · resource economics;
  - international environmental law pertaining to the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity;
- physical and spatial planning and landscaping;
- business management.

Persons submitting nominations must please bear in mind that no persons who fill any political position in terms of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa shall be appointed as members of the board of the institute.