How does Government work?

South Africa is a constitutional democracy with a three-tier system of government and an independent judiciary. The national, provincial and local levels of government all have legislative and executive authority in their own spheres.

Information on the government system is on this website available under About. The publication Machinery of Government [PDF] provides basic information on how the government of South Africa is structured and how its components work individually and together as a system.

Share this page