Parliament invites public to nominate Commission for Gender Equality

11 Jan 2017

Nominations invited for Commission for Gender Equality

Members of the public are invited to nominate suitable candidates for the Commission for Gender Equality (GCE), according to the Ad Hoc Committee established to fill vacancies in the Commission. Applications will also be accepted.

The public call for nominations to fill vacancies in the GCE is made in terms of the Commission for Gender Equality Act of 2013.

Section 187 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa of 1996 mandates the GCE to promote respect for gender equality and to protect, develop and attain gender equality. It has powers and functions regulated by national legislation to monitor, investigate, research, educate, lobby, advise and report on issues concerning gender equality.

On the recommendation of Parliament, the President will appoint a member to the Commission for a term of office not exceeding five years. Members whose terms have expired may be reappointed for one additional term. Members may be full-time or part-time.

The candidates must be South African citizens who are fit and proper persons for appointment to the Commission, are broadly representative of the South African community and have a record of commitment to the promotion of gender equality. They must have applicable knowledge of and experience in matters connected with the objectives of the Commission.

Nominations must contain the full name, address/email address and contact details of the person or organisation making the nomination, a signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee and the nominee’s Curriculum Vitae (CV).

This must provide the nominee’s:

  • Full name, ID number and gender.
  • Contact details, including physical address, telephone/cell phone number and email address.
  • Relevant previous work experience (including relevant dates and organisations concerned), and
  • Academic qualifications.

The list of applications or nominations received will be published on the parliamentary website to allow members of the public to comment on the suitability of candidates.

Nominations must reach Ms Neliswa Nobatana, Committee Secretary, 3rd Floor, 90 Plein Street, Cape Town, 8000 or P.O. Box 15, Cape Town, 8001, by no later than 23 January 2017.

Neliswa Nobatana
Tel: 021 403 3840
Cell: 083 709 8472
Fax: 086 660 7716

For media enquiries or interviews with the Chairperson please contact:
Yoliswa Landu
Tel: 021 403 8203
Cell: 081 497 4694

More on: